On the water

20 Feb

This is me looking very relaxed on my Dad’s sailing boat.

Suitably nautical stripes?

Before you think it was all a calm event with me tanning on the wee deck, this was a window of about 10 minutes where I sat on the deck without having to dodge a swinging boom as they “tacked” the boat (changed directions).  Honestly I was slightly fearful of my life (or at least of my beloved camera) as the boat spent at least half of the time practically perpendicular to the water.  This picture was taken with me sticking my head out of the below deck bit (yeah I don’t have that sailing gene), looking at the water from my parallel position.

We were sailing on the lagoon in Knysna, and these are the “Heads” which you have to pass through to go out to sea.  The wind was a bit rough to head out but got some good views.  The boat was rather wobbly so no straight pictures of them.

On Sunday, my Step Mom and I went for a hike along a rather dry river bed in the mountains near Wilderness (a small town near my Dad’s place).  So lots of fresh air this weekend.  I didn’t really take any photos as it was so nice to just be walking around.

2 Responses to “On the water”

  1. Tali 20 February 2012 at 9:22 pm #

    Where is the tan???

    • Michelle Y 21 February 2012 at 7:58 am #

      I promise I am more tanned then when I left London (so imagine how terrifyingly white I was). The sun is too harsh to be out in the middle of the day or all day so have to plan my tanning sessions.

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

