Cheese and Wine

4 Apr

For some birthday celebrations I had wine, cheese and friends.  Good combo no?

I got pretty flowers.  A table isn’t complete without pretty flowers.  I think anenomes are my new favourites.I used washi tape to label the cheese board.I made this amazing flaxseed flat bread.  So easy and so delicious.I made beetroot cake.  I actually used Stevia (Truvia) as a replacement for the sugar – using 1/3 cup Truvia and 3/4 cup brown sugar and used a mix of wholemeal flour and spelt flour.  The icing I just mixed 300 g cream cheese, 50 g butter and icing sugar until sweet enough with two tablespoons beetroot.  This was really yummy and I will definitely try the recipe again.  What I did learn: (1) when making icing cream cheese should be warmed to same temperature as butter otherwise it lumps, (2) read instructions properly so you grate the beetroot on fine instead of ‘normal’.  I have awesome friends who bring homemade bread (soda bread with hazelnuts) and spelt crackers.

5 Responses to “Cheese and Wine”

  1. carolyn 5 April 2012 at 6:14 am #

    Love the cake stand.
    Momsy xx

  2. anamublog 5 April 2012 at 9:19 am #

    what a delicious (and pretty) birthday spread! happy belated!

  3. Ms. Fastspeed 5 April 2012 at 6:37 pm #

    Everything there looks stunning!

  4. Punctuation Mark 7 April 2012 at 4:33 pm #

    That cake looks fantastic!

  5. sue lyn 8 April 2012 at 11:25 am #

    mm! the food looks so good! haha im hungry already

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

