Inspiring Day

12 Apr

Today two people inspired me.

First, was the conductor on the train.  Now I can’t imagine that being a train conductor is the most exciting job in the world and I am sure most kids don’t grow up wishing they worked as one.  But the gentleman on the train today gave his job 110%.  As we pulled into London we were provided with an apology for the slow running of the train (nothing unusual there), but also an update on how the tube was running (occasionally happens) as well as a weather report for London (never had that before).  I thought it was great that this man took a job which is probably not all that inspiring and put his own stamp on it and put the extra effort in to make it more interesting.  Currently I am signed up to do some temp secretarial work.  Something that I have done for about 8 years of my life and something that I have come to nigh on despise.  However, this man has inspired me (once I get some temp work) to put that extra bit of effort in and maybe then the job won’t be so awful.

Second, I met fellow blogger Ana Maria for coffee.  We can chat the hind leg off a donkey but one of the conversations we had was about our various ‘side-lines’.  Ana Maria has only been in the UK for a year and is shortly off to Kuala Lumpur (which is terribly exciting in itself) but she has started several enterprises while she has been here including an online vintage-market and various design and photographic projects.  The thing is she just does them, doesn’t question her own abilities, compare herself or put walls in her way (or at least to the extent that it stops her doing things).  I am just going to start doing – stop umming and aahhing and come up with a plan and do stuff.  Life is too short, no?

This also inspired me from Leah at Thx, Thx, Thx

5 Responses to “Inspiring Day”

  1. Jo 12 April 2012 at 7:53 pm #

    I couldn’t agree more – life IS too short so we just have to push ourselves.

  2. Joana Gomes (@joanabcggomes) 12 April 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    This is a really great post. I feel already inspired to actually go and do stuff without stopping myself to question every single move! We’re just too insecure, I think.

    I’m really enjoying her blog and store, at first glance :)

    xo Joana

    http://www.growinfashion.com

  3. Monica 13 April 2012 at 7:35 am #

    excellent. i am always inspired by ordinary folk doing things extra-ordinarily. i love that you discovered that YOU making a change, changes the work.

  4. Jessica Ann (@peonyfish) 13 April 2012 at 10:46 am #

    I love this! I have had the odd train conductor like that once or twice and I hope they know how much they improve peoples’ day.

  5. Decorator's Notebook 13 April 2012 at 2:11 pm #

    I really enjoyed this post – I’m terrible for coming up with ideas one minute and then coming up with reasons I won’t be able/good enough/rich enough to actually make anything of them the next.

    Could growing up in America has something to do with it in Ana’s case maybe… the British tend to associate can-do attitude with arrogance rather than seeing it as a positive. Totally wrong of course but if you’ve grown-up being modest and self-deprecating it’s hard to shake it off. I always admire those with self-confidence like that.

    Hmmm, thought-provoking.

    On a lighter note, one of the train drivers on my old commute used to do all his announcements in English followed by the same thing in French. Think he thought it was on the Eurostar (or perhaps Eurovision??) !

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

