Things I am afraid to say

3 May

Have you come across the inspiring post by Ez of Creature Comforts about keeping things a bit more real on the blog front?  The premiss is basically that sometimes the blog world is just a bit too pretty and even though bloggers do not intentionally ‘lie’ about their perfect lives, the impression one may get is that they are indeed perfect.  I thought Ez and the others who joined in were all pretty inspiring and thought I would share too.  Some of these things I haven’t even shared with my ‘real’ people or even aloud to myself so this is doubly scary.  It is kind of

In no particular order:

  1. As you can tell I keep my flowers way past their best.
  2. I worry that my dreams are too unrealistic and that they will not come to pass.  It terrifies me.  I have a long list.  Should I settle for one?
  3. I think I’m a giant hypocrite because I want to be a great environmentalist who lives a minimalist sort of life but I lust after an exorbitant amount of stuff, like camera bags, gorgeous throws, beautiful furniture, pretty plates, etc
  4. When I was young (as in high school) I used to be far too concerned about my future wrinkles.  In my late teens and early twenties I got over it.  However, I am now disturbed that I am getting some of those wrinkles, however feint they are, because they remind me that I don’t have forever to make all those dreams (mentioned above) happen.
  5. I really quite  like the idea of being married although I have denied it to friends and family for quite some time and have no logical explanation as to why I do want to be married.  I don’t want a “wedding” or an engagement ring but I would like pictures to show to somebody when I am old.
  6. I am the world’s worst procrastinator and get terribly depressed when I don’t accomplish anything and then achieve nothing and then there is a vicious cycle.
  7. Sometimes I feel really lonely.

Ooh think that is all the real I can take for one day. And, to end on a more positive note, even though these thoughts happen in the dark corners of my mind I am mostly super grateful for the people and life i have.

If you take this up I would love you to link back.

17 Responses to “Things I am afraid to say”

  1. Serena 4 May 2012 at 12:18 am #

    I love that you shared this, and I think many of your fears are so universal… I related to many of them (#2, 3, 4, 6 and 7). Thank you for sharing :)

  2. Haylee 7 May 2012 at 3:20 pm #

    I’m completely with you on #6. That’s how I am too. It’s such a vicious cycle and one that I need to break desperately, because sometimes the depression that follows after “not doing anything and being so lazy” is debilitating and makes me now want to do anything but sleep. It’s awful. You’re not the only one, I can assure you of that.

  3. Zoë (Convo_Pieces) (@Convo_Pieces) 9 May 2012 at 3:22 pm #

    Wow… I’ve read someone else’s ‘things I am afraid to say’ and thought I would definitely not be brave enough to do this. Um, can I ditto you on 1, 2, 4, 6 and 7! (Especially 1… I keep flowers for way, way too long!)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Things I’m Afraid To Tell You | - 4 May 2012

    [...] & B Stories | Pretty Little Things | Feistyelle | Nib & Zed | Well and Cheaply | I Ripple. I Dance. | Whitfield Awesome Blog | Foxtrot Press | Dry As Toast | The List of Now | Apple Blue [...]

  2. Things I’m Afraid to Tell You | Maggie Rose - 14 May 2012

    [...] B Stories | Pretty Little Things | Feistyelle | Nib & Zed | Well and Cheaply | I Ripple. I Dance. | Whitfield Awesome Blog | Foxtrot Press | Dry As Toast | The List of Now | Apple [...]

  3. Things I’m Afraid to Tell You « radiant republic {blog} - 14 May 2012

    [...] & B Stories | Pretty Little Things | Feistyelle | Nib & Zed | Well and Cheaply | I Ripple. I Dance. | Whitfield Awesome Blog | Foxtrot Press | Dry As Toast | The List of Now | Apple [...]

  4. Things I’m Afraid To Tell You: Wave Two | Snapshots & Secrets - 14 May 2012

    [...] & B Stories | Pretty Little Things | Feistyelle | Nib & Zed | Well and Cheaply | I Ripple. I Dance. | Whitfield Awesome Blog | Foxtrot Press | Dry As Toast | The List of Now | Apple [...]

  5. Things I’m Afraid to Tell You | Nylon Lifestyle - 14 May 2012

    [...] & B Stories | Pretty Little Things | Feistyelle | Nib & Zed | Well and Cheaply | I Ripple. I Dance. | Whitfield Awesome Blog | Foxtrot Press | Dry As Toast | The List of Now | Apple [...]

  6. things i’m afraid to tell you « politicsandfashionblog - 15 May 2012

    [...] & B Stories | Pretty Little Things | Feistyelle | Nib & Zed | Well and Cheaply | I Ripple. I Dance. | Whitfield Awesome Blog | Foxtrot Press | Dry As Toast | The List of Now | Apple [...]

  7. Things I’m Afraid To Tell You — Wave No. 2 - 15 May 2012

    [...] | The A & B Stories | Pretty Little Things | Feistyelle | Nib & Zed | Well and Cheaply | I Ripple. I Dance. | Whitfield Awesome Blog | Foxtrot Press | Dry As Toast | The List of Now | Apple Blue | For the [...]

  8. Things I’m Afraid to Tell You « Style & Cheek - 15 May 2012

    [...] | The A & B Stories | Pretty Little Things | Feistyelle | Nib & Zed | Well and Cheaply | I Ripple. I Dance. | Whitfield Awesome Blog | Foxtrot Press | Dry As Toast | The List of Now | Apple Blue | For the [...]

  9. Things I’m afraid to tell you – Part 2 | Design& - 18 May 2012

    [...] A & B Stories |Pretty Little Things | Feistyelle | Nib & Zed | Well and Cheaply | I Ripple. I Dance. | Whitfield Awesome Blog |Foxtrot Press | Dry As Toast | The List of Now | Apple [...]

  10. Things I’m Afraid to Tell You - 29 May 2012

    [...] The A & B Stories | Pretty Little Things | Feistyelle | Nib & Zed | Well and Cheaply | I Ripple. I Dance. | Whitfield Awesome Blog | Foxtrot Press | Dry As Toast | The List of Now | Apple Blue | For the [...]

  11. CONNECTION IS EVERYTHING. | kelleerich.com - 30 May 2012

    [...] The A & B Stories | Pretty Little Things | Feistyelle | Nib & Zed | Well and Cheaply | I Ripple. I Dance. | Whitfield Awesome Blog | Foxtrot Press | Dry As Toast | The List of Now | Apple Blue | For the [...]

  12. Things I am afraid to tell you | Pencil Shavings - 31 May 2012

    [...] & B Stories | Pretty Little Things | Feistyelle | Nib & Zed | Well and Cheaply | I Ripple. I Dance. | Whitfield Awesome Blog | Foxtrot Press | Dry As Toast | The List of Now | Apple [...]

  13. Things I’m Afraid To Tell You » Caitlin Corsetti - 31 May 2012

    [...] & B Stories | Pretty Little Things | Feistyelle | Nib & Zed | Well and Cheaply | I Ripple. I Dance. | Whitfield Awesome Blog | Foxtrot Press | Dry As Toast | The List of Now | Apple [...]

  14. L'élephant Rose - 5 June 2012

    [...] The A & B Stories | Pretty Little Things | Feistyelle | Nib & Zed | Well and Cheaply | I Ripple. I Dance. | Whitfield Awesome Blog | Foxtrot Press | Dry As Toast | The List of Now | Apple Blue | For the [...]

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

