The end and the beginning

31 Dec

It is the end of 2010 and the beginning of a new year is a few hours away. Over the last year I have become an enthusiastic reader of blogs.  At a basic level and as a nosy person I just like to read about what other people are up to, but I also find them everything from interesting to inspirational.  And thus as a last minute whim for the new year I have decided to start a blog.  I don’t expect any body to read this and imagine it as more a modern way of keeping a journal of what I get up to, create, make and things that I love.

So to jump right in …

I am not usually a person who makes New Year’s resolutions so instead I am going to create a birthday list (inspired by A Beautiful Mess; Levi’s Girl; Emmadime) which sounds more interesting.  Basically it’s x things before my x birthday.  As my 27th birthday is only 3 months away I am going to go with 28 things before my 28th birthday.  I suppose it differs from the life list in that it leads to more immediate action and doesn’t give you time to procrastinate.

So here is the list:

  1. Get back to my goal weight and get fit (sorry, get the boring ones out the way first)
  2. Wash my face and brush my teeth every night before bed (even when super tired)
  3. Learn to sew and make an outfit for my graduation ceremony (in April 2011) (post)
  4. Complete a photo project every month
  5. Go to a prohibition party and blitz party
  6. Have dinner or drinks at the National Portrait Gallery restaurant  (post)
  7. Finish a cross-stitch or craft project a month
  8. Visit a different museum / gallery every month
  9. Call my family members at least once a month
  10. Get involved in my local transition town movement
  11. Make and send a birthday card to all my loved ones
  12. I am not a fan of the group email but often it leads to individual communication – send one a month to all my friends
  13. Sort out the kitchen We moved, which was easier
  14. Find a beautiful lamp for our lounge (something vintage)
  15. See a new country
  16. Join some sort of craft group – a great way to make more friends
  17. Have a staycation in London, preferably East London
  18. Go walking in the Lake District
  19. Buy a hamper from Fortum and Mason (or a great pre-loved one)
  20. Appreciate a happy moment in every day
  21. Learn to crochet
  22. through 28. Finish 8 things from my life list

What do you think?

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

