Good start

1 Jan

So today I immediately started working on my 28-list.  I met two friends at Waterloo and we wandered across the river to the National Portrait Gallery.  On the way we popped into the crypt at St Martins-in-the-Field.  I have never been inside before and it is quite … cavernous.  Though I suppose that is what a crypt is.  There are also some old tombstones on the wall, some dating back as far as the 1600s.  I love the intense feeling behind some of the epitaphs, speaking of “deplorable” and “intolerable” loss.  We then went into the church where there was a chamber orchestra practising for their evening concert.  It was lovely to just sit there and enjoy the atmosphere.

At my suggestion for location my friend had then booked a table for tea at the Gallery Restaurant so, although it wasn’t dinner or drinks per se I believe that is number 6 on the list accomplished.  Although the food wasn’t quite that impressive the view is lovely overlooking the rooftops around Trafalgar Square and I might go back to try the Gin Bar (one of my favourite poison).  As the museum had a later closing we decided to go to the Taylor Wessing Photographic Portrait Exhibition.  So I have visited a museum for the month of January (number 8 on the list).  My two favourite photos were:

  1. An Unsafe Journey by Amy Helene Johansson which has a women travelling between two carriages on a train looking up at the photographer who must have been sitting on the roof (brave photographer); and
  2. I didn’t write down the name of the other photographer but it shows a cowboy sitting in his bedroom decorated by his wife.  It seemed to be more a portrait of the wife as the bedroom was full of her: chiffon curtains, lettering in the window that says “LOVE”, their wedding photo and a pile of plush pretty pillows on the bed.  It reminded me of the idea of a frontier woman who hung gingham curtains and picked wildflowers to make her small house a home.

I enjoy going to this exhibition every year and would suggest that if you are in London you go and have a look.

[Now histerically laughing at T who has downloaded an ipod app that counts sit-ups.  What is the point of that?  Have people lost the ability to count for themselves?]

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

