Lazy Saturday with an eggless pancake

8 Jan

I got a late start this morning after catching up with my favourite show Grey’s Anatomy last night.

Then I thought I would cancel out my workout by trying a version of the single lady pancake by Joy the Baker.  This is a great recipe if you don’t happen to have an egg lying around and have a hankering for a pancake.  Joy’s recipe is far more indulgent and definitely has it’s place but since I am doing chocolate-free January sprinkling chocolate chips into my pancake wasn’t going to happen.

I doubled the recipe to make two as T wouldn’t be impressed if I excluded him.  The combination of whole-wheat flour (which I substituted) and oats gave it a nice chewy texture.  This is definitely more of an American style pancake rather than a thin crepe type one so if you prefer the latter don’t eat it because I would hate to disappoint.

__________________________________________________

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cups whole-wheat flour
  • 2 tbsp giant oats
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 40 ml vegetable oil (I used coconut oil)
  • pinch of salt
  • 90 ml oat milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Instructions

  1. In a small bowl mix together all the dry ingredients and then add all the wet ingredients and stir until well combined.  The mixture is thick.
  2. Heat a small frying pan with a bit of oil and pour in half the pancake batter and spread out with the back of a spoon.
  3. Cook on medium heat until bubbles form.
  4. Flip and cook until golden brown.
  5. Serve with your favourite topping (I had banana and maple syrup and T had tomato sauce)
One Response to “Lazy Saturday with an eggless pancake”

  1. Toni 11 January 2011 at 9:51 am #

    Chelle! Looks delicious!

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

