Photographing food

8 Jan

I have been looking at a lot of food blogs lately and love the styling of the food in many of them and I would love to improve my photography in styling food and other objects.  Some key things which I think I need to incorporate:

  1. Using beautiful objects as backgrounds and accents (beautiful  tablecloths, plates, cutlery, etc).  Adding different textures and pops of colour add interest. I might see if I can pick up some odds and ends in car-boot sales and vintage stores through the year.
  2. Using fresh, colourful beautiful food.
  3. Need a tripod.  I have been resting my camera on bags of pasta but it does limit the level which photos can be taken.

Here is some photo inspiration …

Sources: plums, spots, raspberries and cheescake

Here are some more tips from 101 Cookbooks (love her!) and Food and Wine.

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

