Vegan try outs

27 Jan

So with my month long sabbatical from chocolate drawing to an end I thought I might give myself another food challenge and try a week as a vegan. A week doesn’t seem too long and it it is a nice way to dabble my toe in the waters.  In fact, I have already planned most of my meals for the week.

More then testing whether I could be vegan (which I think would need a longer trial run) I think it will give me an opportunity to try new things.  I think one of the great things about being vegetarian is that you get to be more creative with food and experiment with things that most hardened carnivores wouldn’t even consider – different grains, soy products, seeds, nuts, milks, sweeteners, etc.  However, with a bit of food blog browsing I have realised that I am missing out on a whole host of things that I just have never got around to – like tempeh and cacao to name just two.  And even though I have no desperate need, I thought I would try some vegan cheese while we are at it.

I don’t think I am going to convert to veganism anytime soon (though I have great respect for those who can manage it) but I would like to reduce my dairy consumption to a greater extent.  In my head I am aware of the connection between the meat and dairy industry but a life without gelato would be a life to long too bear.  Also I think travelling and eating out would become a much more laborious task as generally the only vegetarian option on the menu is cheese laden.  In the long term though it is definitely something that I aspire to.

I recently came across some very wise words by the great Martin Luther King Jr which reflect one of the reasons I am vegetarian (and why I try and live green) and would extend to a vegan lifestyle:

An individual has not started living until he can rise above the narrow confines of his individualistic concerns to the broader concerns of all humanity.

My only proviso would be to extend Dr King’s concern to all – the planet and all its living creatures.  On the odd ocassion people question why I make the “sacrifice” to be vegetarian but I think it is our ability to “rise above” our base desires which makes us human and I hope I will always aspire to do better.

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

