My week in food – zucchini muffins

13 Feb

I only tried one new recipe this week.  With our veg box that we get delivered we had got courgettes (marrow/zucchini or whatever else you want to call them), which I hadn’t got around to cooking.  I had seen some recipes in the past which used them in baking and thought I would try that out, imagining that it would do a carrot cake type thing.  I found two recipes I wanted to try, a muffin recipe from Joy the Baker and a zucchini bread (or muffin) one from Smitten Kitchen.  I was going to try the cake but didn’t have enough eggs when I got home so tried Joy’s version (though I will definitely try the cake version in the near future).

Joy call’s these muffins “gnarly” and they definitely aren’t pretty, and mine are even less pretty because I used wholegrain flour instead of white flour so they are even darker.  They really reminded me of the ugly bran muffins that my gran used to make look wise, although (sorry gran) mine were much more moist (even 4 days later).  The bonus with these muffins is that they are absolutely guilt free because there is no oil and no butter!  Also they have flax seeds in which are really good for you (so I have been told).

So here is the recipe with some minor adjustments that I made (adapted from Joy the Baker)

Zucchini Muffins

Ingredients

  • 1 cup wholegrain spelt flour
  • 1/2 cup wholewheat pastry flour
  • 3/4 cup milled flax seed
  • 3/4 cup oat bran
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt (though I just grind mine a couple of times over the bowl)
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 large zucchini, grated (about 1 1/2 cups)
  • 2 small bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 cup chopped dates
  • 3/4 cup oat milk
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Instructions

  1. Combine all the dry ingredients in a large bowl
  2. Add the banana, zucchini and dates
  3. In a separate bowl combine the eggs, milk and vanilla extract and pour over other ingredients
  4. Stir until all ingredients are moistened, but don’t over-stir.
  5. Share out mixture into muffin cups
  6. Bake in oven at 180°C for 15 to 20 minutes

The original recipe says it makes 15 muffins but I got 19.

Also, in our veg box this week we got blood oranges, which I love.  Don’t you just think they are so beautiful?  Nature really gets her colours spot on.

One Response to “My week in food – zucchini muffins”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My week in food « I ripple. I dance. - 27 February 2011

    […] also did another version of these muffins (originally from Joy the Baker) with some slight adjustments.  Aside from making a snack for […]

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

