My week in food

27 Feb

So this week was T’s birthday.  As I was out all week on my course I could only make a cake yesterday but boy was it a cake.  A few weeks ago I had shown T a picture of a “rainbow cake” which looked pretty darn amazing.  T then politely requested (translate as demanded) one of these for his birthday.  As the cake baking day drew near he did suggest that I didn’t have to do it but by this stage I had already told several people what I would be doing so couldn’t really back out.

I must admit that although the cake tasted good, it didn’t look nearly as pretty as some of the other versions I had seen of this and was a bit disappointed.  I had also tried to make this coconut flavour but that didn’t work too well either and it really just tasted like a sponge cake.  Though tasting the different colours your mind was really expecting more.

Rainbow Cake

I used this white cupcake recipe but tripled the recipe and replaced the milk with coconut milk.  This did actually make 6 layers (in 19 cm round cake tin) but for some reason the green layer had one spot that didn’t cook properly (guessing that was something with the oven).  I put three layers in the oven at a time and baked at 175°C for about 20 to 25 minutes.  Just keep an eye on it and test that it is cooked through by inserting a toothpick or knife or whatever you have that works.

For the icing I used 600 g (3 tubs) cream cheese with a little butter and probably about 2 cups icing sugar.  I thought I had more and would probably have used more to make a thicker icing that wouldn’t have been so runny and covered the cake.  That said T doesn’t actually like overly sweet icing and I think if it had been much sweeter you couldn’t have eaten a whole slice of it, which is the point really.

Carrot Cake Muffins

I also did another version of these muffins (originally from Joy the Baker) with some slight adjustments.  Aside from making a snack for ‘school’ I wanted to experiment with different ratios in the flour as well as with agave nectar.  According to some websites you are supposed to reduce other liquids in the mix by the amount of agave that is added but because I added the coconut I figured that I would still need all the milk.  (Also, I had forgotten to add the eggs and thought it looked a bit dry, though later remembered the eggs and was worried that it would be a bit runny).

These differed to the last batch in that there were definitely more moist (spelt is a thirstier flour so reducing that probably made a difference).  They were also sweeter then the last batch and seemed sticker (which I can only assume was down to the agave).

Ingredients

  • 1 cup wholewheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 cup wholegrain spelt flour
  • 3/4 cup milled flax seed
  • 3/4 cup oat bran
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup light agave nectar
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt (though I just grind mine a couple of times over the bowl)
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 medium to large carrots, grated
  • 2 small bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 cup chopped dates
  • 1 cup dessicated coconut
  • 3/4 cup oat milk
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Instructions

  1. Combine all the dry ingredients in a large bowl
  2. Add the banana, carrots, coconut and dates
  3. In a separate bowl combine the eggs, milk and vanilla extract and pour over other ingredients
  4. Stir until all ingredients are moistened, but don’t over-stir.
  5. Share out mixture into muffin cups
  6. Bake in oven at 175°C for 20 minutes or until golden

I got about 18 muffins

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

