My week in food – chocolate muffins

27 Mar

I tried another version of these muffins but this time I wanted something chocolatey.  I added some cocoa, reduced the flour, only used a wee bit of sugar as I thought I could at least pretend to be healthy and attempted to get a hint of cranberry.  Unfortunately the cranberry wasn’t strong enough, if I want to try it again I might buy frozen cranberries and just mush them up along with apple or pear.

They are quite a dense little muffin and not very sweet so if you want more sugar go on and add some more.  They do however pack a chocolate punch.  I had a chocolate muffin last week from a stall at a carboot and it just didn’t really taste like anything.  Although they were lighter they were more like cupcakes.

I am gaining an interest in the science of baking and am really intrigued by how various ingredients react together.  Flaxseed I have learnt can be used to replace, eggs or the fat in a recipe (butter, oil, etc).  I would like to try some vegan baking too.  Stay tuned for some adventures …

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup spelt flour
  • 1/4 cup wholewheat flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 3/4 cup flax seed
  • 3/4 cup oat bran
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 100 g dried cranberries
  • 3/4 cup oat milk
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 200 g fruit puree – apple and cranberry (Clearspring product)
  • 1 pear, grated
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 180°c
  • Combine all dry ingredients (probably useful to sift the cocoa powder)
  • Stir in the fruit
  • Add all wet ingredients.
  • Divide into oiled muffin tin and cook for about 20 minutes.

Made 14

One Response to “My week in food – chocolate muffins”

  1. Kelly 30 March 2011 at 8:23 am #

    Hey there did you take these pics yourself? Really lovely. Love the fancy plate 🙂

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

