Quilt preparation

27 Apr

I have finally got together a collection of fabrics for my quilt.

The dots and the plain white are new organic fabrics that I got through Greenfibres and The Cloth Seller.  The stripes and pattern are vintage pieces that I bought through Vintage Fabric Market and Little Tea Wagon on Etsy.  I am still pondering whether I should add a plain grey to the mix but the bed linen that I have bought is plain grey so not sure if it will be too much solid grey or whether it will blend it in.

I am also doing a cross-stitch square with the words “home is whereever i am with you” from the song by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros.

Instead of doing a “proper” quilt with batting I am going to just use some very lightweight fleece for the backing.  I figure that way it could be a summer and winter cover.

I am also thinking that with the patterned fabric I will make one set of pillow cases as I quite like the look of interesting pillowcases as opposed to extra throw cushions.

Once I have made my quilt I would love to try out crocheting to add an extra layer to the bed during winter.  I am loving this, it looks so warm and cuddly

Source: The Purl Bee

4 Responses to “Quilt preparation”

  1. Nordie 28 April 2011 at 6:31 am #

    Oh I really love that fabric! Dont know if you need a fifth – it really depends on the pattern and how everything looks. Do you have enough to make up a test swatch, even if you only pin them together? Sometimes you can only tell when you actually do it…

    • Michelle Y 3 May 2011 at 7:31 am #

      Thanks, I will definitely be playing around with squares and see how it goes. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Catherine 28 April 2011 at 10:24 am #

    I love grey and neon together! That knitted blanket is wonderful! xo

  3. kellyyoung192 28 April 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    Oh my gosh! Love the fabric! 🙂 It’s perfect – almost exactly what i had imagined when you described it! Its so exciting 🙂

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

