If I had a week off

9 May

I do technically have this week off from work, but instead of being at home I am heading to school for the week.  I don’t know if I mentioned before but my course runs week intensive classes so I am basically there from 9 to 5 each day.  It is pretty knackering.

It did however get me thinking – what I would do with a whole week off at home?  It might not sound particularly exciting but it is nice to just catch up on yourself sometimes.  Plus it is a more likely possibility then winning the lottery this weekend.  Although I might have to wait until October for it when I am studying full time.

This is what my week would involve.

  • I would wake up early every morning and work out for an hour.  I have fallen into bad habits again lately and I just know I feel so much better when I do work out regularly.
  • I would have a healthy breakfast, possibly one of the healthy quinoa options I have mentioned before.
  • Then each day I would tackle a different task:
    • I would start (and finish) my quilt
    • Maybe do some cross-stitching
    • A little bit of watercolour practice
    • Photographs at every opportunity
    • Some of the boring tasks like cleaning out some junk before we move in September, although when I get into these they are often quite cathartic
    • A little bit of blogging here and there
  • I would also get around to some museum visits to nourish some cultural cravings: Watercolours at Tate Britain, The Cult of Beauty at the V&A and the photography awards exchibition at Somerset House
  • The weather during this magical week would of course be warm and sunny and I would have a lovely fresh salad every day in the park, perhaps meet a friend or two for lunch.
  • By the time the weekend arrives I would feel as though I was all on track and could just relax.  Maybe Friday night drinks along the river, a carboot sale with the girls, pub lunch on Sunday.

Aah, doesn’t it sound blissful.

Source: Design Attractor (click picture for Etsy shop)

2 Responses to “If I had a week off”

  1. Kerry 10 May 2011 at 10:51 pm #

    Gosh this post has really reminded me to make the most of working from home. I CAN do those things but I need better time management. Great post 🙂 x

  2. willmcf 16 May 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    When we live Italy you can do all of those! (except visit the galleries, but there’s not exactly a shortage in Italy)

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

