Maxi skirts for work?

17 May

I caved this morning and have bought some material to make myself two maxi skirts.  A bright yellow (for a full-length zip-waisted skirt) and a dusky pink (for an elastic-waisted midi-length skirt).

Now the question I have is what are your thoughts on maxi-skirts for the office?  To give you a bit of background.  I work for a law-firm in the West End.  Secretary’s aren’t required to wear suits and in fact it is fairly relaxed; ladies generally wear trousers and jumper/top.  Since I have put on weight I don’t fit into any of my old trousers when I was a full-time office grunt and so generally wear tea-dresses and skirt/top combos.  Also, I am only here until the end of September before reverting to student life for a few months and then hopefully never have to work in a law-firm again (fingers crossed).

These are some images I came across which I think look pretty decent for the office but I am still umming and aahing a bit…  The pink/green combo in particular might be pushing it.  Also love the pleats but think that might be a bit higher grade for my sewing skills.

(All pictures from pinterest. Click picture to be taken to source)
3 Responses to “Maxi skirts for work?”

  1. Topaz 17 May 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    Hi, the pink/green would work perfectly,bearing in mind you will be sitting behind your desk for the majority of the day – go bold and do it!

  2. siobhan 17 May 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    I love the Maxi skirts, they’re really classy. You should definitely go for it! So impressed you can make skirts!

  3. Elizabeth@rosalilium 18 May 2011 at 7:55 am #

    I am totally down with the maxi skirts – I can think they can look feminine and classy all at once. Go for it!

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

