Ethical inspiration – vintage baking

19 May

I haven’t had a chance to get around to baking anything lately so to assuage my baking desires I decided to take a browse around Etsy for some vintage baking items.  I love the old-school charm of these items and would love to make little star-shaped cakes!  I have a “newish” copy of Mrs Beeton’s Household Management which is just brilliant.  It has recipes for making turtle soup(!) which apparently took a couple of days.  A very different world it was when the UK had colonies.

I am in need of a new sifter as I bought one from Habitats in a sale and I used it once before the pull thingy snapped!  Do I sound old if I say they don’t make things like they used to?

Sources: goose sifter and muffin tray; star cake cups; mixing bowl; flour sifter; Mrs Beeton’s cookbook

One Response to “Ethical inspiration – vintage baking”

  1. Elizabeth@rosalilium 20 May 2011 at 8:33 am #

    I am a BIG fan of vintage bakeware. My collection is slowly growing.

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

