My week in food

24 May

Haven’t had one of these for while.  This is just what I made on Sunday for breakfast and supper.

Vegan apple pancake

I thought I would give the eggless pancake (originally from Joy the Baker) another go.  I didn’t have any oat milk to hand but did have plenty of apples that needed to be eaten so thought I would add that instead.  Mine was slightly mushy in the middle but tasted really good and I imagine it was probably slightly healthier. I also figured there was nothing in there that could kill me if eaten raw.  I would suggest making in a larger pan and spreading out a bit more to cook thoroughly all the way through.  Bonus – with a banana on top it was already 2 of my fruit portions for the day.

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cups whole-wheat flour
  • 1 tbsp giant oats
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • smidgen baking soda
  • 1 heaped teaspoon coconut oil
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 grated apple

Instructions

  1. In a small bowl combine all the dry ingredients, mix in the apple and then add the oil and stir until well combined.  The mixture is super thick.
  2. Heat a small frying pan with a bit of oil/marg and “pour” in the pancake batter and spread out with a spatula.
  3. Cook on medium heat until browned.
  4. Flip and cook until golden brown.
  5. Serve with your favourite topping.

Makes 1 generous pancake

Butternut quiche

Next up for dinner I made a butternut and feta quiche.  I used the sesame crust I made before and for the filling used one small butternut, a handful of feta, 4 eggs, milks and herbs. I roasted the butternut and then popped that into the crust (which had been in the fridge for a little bit).  I then stirred in the feta and poured over the egg/milk mixture.  I cooked for about 40 minutes.  It makes 4 servings.

As a side I made these roasted radishes from Jessica of Knitting on Trains.  They were delicious.

I like how the colour goes from a bright pink red to a purply colour.

One Response to “My week in food”

  1. siobhan 24 May 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    wow that quiche looks insanely good!

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

