Great British Blogger: Rosalilium

26 May

Welcome to the first of my Great British Bloggers series.  Ooh I am excited.

Basically the purpose of these posts is to share with you some bloggers from the UK.  You might have come across them or not but hopefully you will find them as interesting as I do.

First up we have Elizabeth from Rosalilium.  In her own words her blog is as varied as the English weather and that is what I love about it.  I strongly believe that we aren’t just one thing and that we should have the opportunity to explore all the facets of our personalities and Elizabeth’s blog does just that covering everything from days out to vintage find to food and travel.  Recently she spent some time in the Dominican Republic which I found particularly interesting as I would love to do a similar thing.  Here are her answers to some questions which I thought might give you some insight into our lovely blogger.

What part of your city would you most align with your own personality and why?

I am actually a bit of a gypsy as I have lived all over the South of England. But I have spent most of my life living in South-East London, which is also where I was born. So I would say I am most like New Cross, London – it is a multi-cultural, varied area filled with students going to Goldsmiths (I am Alumni), creative types who never left after graduating from Goldsmiths, families, a few young professionals and a large immigrant community.  It is affordable and down-to-earth which I like – to me, it is a more ‘real’ London. It is walking distance from Greenwich, Deptford, Lewisham, Peckham, Brockley and there are some beautiful parklands nearby. Also there are some great pubs regularly hosting live music and New Cross is home to one of my favoruite Thai restaurants.

Who is your favourite current British designer / artist?

Natasha Newton’s work is simply stunning [blog and etsy shop]. One day, when I have some pennies, I am going to buy lots of her paintings.

What adventures would you have on your perfect British day?

Oooh, that is a tough question when there is so much awesomeness to discover in our fair country. I would probably pack a flask of tea and picnic and find a new English Heritage site that I have yet to visit and learn about the history of the place. I would then take my picnic in some beautiful woodland before taking a gentle stroll through the trees. Next I would trawl through some charity shops and antiques stores for hidden treasures. Finally finishing with a visit to a good old country pub for a beverage or two.

_________________________________________________________________

Thanks Elizabeth.

Photo courtesy of Elizabeth.
2 Responses to “Great British Blogger: Rosalilium”

  1. siobhan 26 May 2011 at 8:05 am #

    Great idea for a series of posts, it’s really interesting to discover more British bloggers as I read so many American ones. Love the watercolour union jack too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Today I Am… — Rosalilium - 13 February 2012

    […] don’t follow yet, then come say hi! Blog Interview This week I was also interviewed over at I Ripple. I Dance blog, do check it out if you have a moment. Three Jelly Moulds & A Wardrobe I am busying away […]

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

