Embarrasing, but I am going to share

27 May

Warning: if you find people who obsess about weight boring you might want to skip this one.

So yesterday I temporarily lost my mind.  A work colleague told me about an article she had read about some amazing weight loss pills.   They were all natural, had magical acai berries in and a reporter from Channel 5 (do they even have “reporters”?) had taken them and lost 6kg in a month.  An amount of weight which is quite impressive but still seemed plausible.  Best of all they were having an offer where you could have a free trial and only pay for the postage of the pills.

Instead of going through my normal mode of research (when choosing a new mascara I normally take about two weeks!) I eagerly bought these items in order to give myself a summer boost.  At first I was really excited.  And then I started thinking.

I went back to the site and realised (with a slight amount of horror at my own blinded daftness) that this was probably some scam.  I quickly cancelled the order and emailed my bank.  Stupid, I know but then I got to thinking about my desperate need to get back to my goal weight.

When I first moved to the UK I experienced what is often referred to as a “Heathrow Injection” (i.e. I packed on some pounds).  When my mom had some serious health issues (partially weight related) in 2007 I realised that I needed to do something about my own weight if I didn’t want to end up in the same situation.  So over a year with a healthy diet, a ban on eating whole packets of biscuits and working out 5 or 6 times I week I gradually lost almost 2 stone (12kg)!  I felt healthy and fit and really comfortable in my own skin.

Then, after taking a redundancy package at work and getting out of a routine I slowly fell back into bad habits and have gradually put on half the weight I lost.  Now I am really struggling to find the motivation to get back into my favourite jeans (you would think that motivation enough right?). I know I am not fat or even overweight.  I have a healthy BMI etc.  But I know that I can be thinner and I really can’t afford to buy a whole bunch of new clothes so would really like to lose the extra weight I have put on.

Although I  have been trying for almost a year now to lose this weight (not very hard obviously) I know I can do it again.  It just requires a bit of restraint and some hard work.

Why I would expect any pill to do in a month what it took me 6 months to do before I have no idea.  It does make me question whether my weight loss goal is really for me or more psychological than that?  I don’t really know but realise that if I want to feel good on the beach in Croatia this summer I should have worked out this morning instead of writing this blog.  Tomorrow, right?

Source via pinterest

Hope if you got this far you weren’t too bored.  Thanks

4 Responses to “Embarrasing, but I am going to share”

  1. Catherine 27 May 2011 at 9:58 am #

    I feel very much the same as you and also find it frustrating, but at the same time aren’t really pushing myself that hard because although I’ve noticed a bit of extra weight and sometimes it makes me upset, I’m not fat. It seems like forever since I could fit into my favourite jeans. Double sad.

    xo

  2. Lucy 27 May 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    Manana, manana! I’m like that over most things!

    Thanks for your comment Michelle, I really love your blog – bursting with inspirational bits and bobs! 🙂

  3. Nics Notebook 27 May 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    My OH has had constant problems with his weight and has tried pretty much every fad diet going, he always loses weight v quickly but piles it on again after he stops the diet. He tried those diet pills, and they didn’t do much for him at all. Just try and eat a little bit healthier every day… little steps 🙂 xx

  4. Linsey 31 May 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    Whatever you do please don’t try those mad Alli pills! I heard horror stories of people having to change trousers during the day due to *ahem* bowel accidents because of these things.
    I feel your pain. I’m exactly the same, not fat but my jeans are tight. But I just love food 😦

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

