Healthy apple compote crumble

29 May

For some reason every time I have gone into a store this last week I seem to have bought apples and then we got some apples in our veggie box.  I wanted to do something healthy with them instead of making a high sugar apple crumble, though I do really love my crumble.

So instead I made a really simple compote.  The one variety was fuji and the other was whatever Abel and Cole sent my way but I imagine any sweet red apple would do.  I chopped up 7 apples with the skin on into small bite size pieces and threw them all into a pot.  Added 1/2 cup water and then let simmer for probably about an hour.  Basically until it looks like baby food.  You could add sugar at the beginning but I didn’t think it would be necessary.

For the crumble I took some oats and nuts and lightly toasted them in the oven.

Served with a low fat vanilla yoghurt.

Delicious.

2 Responses to “Healthy apple compote crumble”

  1. Nic's Notebook 29 May 2011 at 8:58 pm #

    Oh yes this is a good healthy alternative to a stodgy apple crumble! (although I do love those too lol) x

  2. Emily, Ruby Slipper Traveller 29 May 2011 at 10:53 pm #

    How delicious! I love apple in things but for some reason eating it alone always gives me shivers up my spine!

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

