Summer is here

3 Jun

Officially. Yay.

For the last month or so I have been wondering what clothes I want / need for the season.  If I had the money I could go crazy because I just love the colours and styles that are around this year.  But in an effort to be more frugal (and planet-friendly) I want to limit any wardrobe additions to things I can make, swap or get from the charity shop (except maybe the shoes, the idea of second hand shoes kind of grosses me out and I am a veggie who doesn’t t wear leather and not sure if this should extend to second hand or not … what do you think?)

Anyway … here is my wish list (sorry photos of watercolour just don’t come out too brilliant)

This is some second hand fabric which I want to use to make the floral print top

After drawing this there were a couple other things I thought about:

  • a blazer in a neutral colour to smarten up outfits for work
  • perhaps another skirt for work.  Kind of like this one but longer.  In summer I generally wear longer skirts as I don’t have the option of always wearing thick leggings/stockings.
  • a cardigan in a light colour (that would go with pink and yellow).  I have seen one in Zara a while ago.  One new buy allowed?
  • Perhaps a few other basic tops?

As most of these items are home-sewn I am thinking they might only be ready by next summer.

What are your plans for summer styling?

p.s. strangely I was thinking about doing this post yesterday and so was Hannah from Seeds and Stitches.  A bit of summer synchronicity I imagine.

3 Responses to “Summer is here”

  1. Lucy 3 June 2011 at 9:46 am #

    The leather question is a good one – a bit like vintage fur – because it already exists and you’re not buying new, you’re not contributing to the continuation of the trade … but I still wouldn’t buy fur – I don’t like the idea of it. As a meat eater I’d be a hypocrite to say the same about leather so it’s not something I can comment on I guess.

    That floral fabric will make a beautiful garment, can’t wait to see it 🙂 x

  2. juliarobb 3 June 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    Lovely watercolours:)

    hmm that is interesting as I genuniely am keen for all second hand goods – LOVE charity shops and carboots (though I would stop at secondhand underwear!)

    However, I don’t recall ever buying second hand shoes, possibly because I don’t really have a ‘thing’ for shoes (cause it has always been stressful finding some that fit), I am more of a bag collector.

  3. Tracey 4 June 2011 at 8:46 am #

    I love your outfit ideas! I’m trying to simplify and streamline my wardrobe where I can … it can be tricky though!

    I love the idea of finding the perfect yellow maxi skirt … I’m a bit yellow obsessed at the moment! 🙂

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

