I love carboots

8 Jun

On Sunday morning Julia and I went to a new carboot which I read about in the week in Pimlico called the Capital Carboot.  The term carboot sale might be a bit strong as there is only a small parking space and most of the sellers are actual on tables.  Not a big deal though because we had an absolutely insanely good shop!  It is a fairly new only having started in September.  I would say this was a very clothes heavy carboot but there were still other delightful finds.

So here is what I got:

My first ever second hand clothing items (that I can remember).  A black and white stripe Gap vest, an Olive and Orange cream and grey stripe vest, a Bally cardigan made from cashmere, merino and silk (this feels so soft and lovely) and a Topshop top with a doily collar thing.  Yes, I have a thing for stripes and yes I never do things in small measures.  Total price: £6.  The sunglasses were 50p and I think add some nice quirk for summer and will be perfect for Croatia

A cute vintage fairy cake tin.  They are so dainty.  Along with two bread tins, a loose-based cake tin and a small tart tin it cost … wait for it … a pound!  Julia and I shared the bounty.

A brilliant book on Rome from the late 70s.  I love the look of 70s photos.  I had no real need for this but just love Italy.

Wooden knitting needles for my mum.

The spotty pillow case which I am going to turn into cushion covers for the lounge when we move.

Finally I got a tie for T.  A Ted Baker one for £1!  I checked online when I got home and they sell for £45 in the shop.  Who would pay that for a tie?

Also Julia and I are sharing the purchase of a little wooden fan which has a drawing on the one side of little panda bears.  She is off to Italy this week and then I am going to use it when I go to Croatia in August.  The joy of living with a teacher is that summer holidays are the only option for holidays and that means HOT.

All in all (including entrance fee of £1) I spent £13.  Sorry if that sounds like bragging but it is more sheer amazement.  We both left with a bit of a giddy shoppers high eager to return another day.  The rain was also terribly kind not to start its constant downpour until we left.

7 Responses to “I love carboots”

  1. siobhan 8 June 2011 at 8:29 am #

    Fantatstic finds! Love the vintage tin. I’m definitely going to check this place out, thanks for sharing. Perhpas I’ll wait til I get a bigger place though or my boyfriend may kick me out! 🙂 Have a great day!

  2. Nic's Notebook 8 June 2011 at 9:00 am #

    Wow you really got some bargains!! I am still waiting to go to my 1st car boot of the year, my OH is never happy about getting up at 6am on a weekend but I’m working on persuading him!! xx

  3. juliarobb 8 June 2011 at 10:41 am #

    It was such a great carboot and am loving all of our purchases! I will be taking 2 of the bright yellow vintage cups, bottle opener and fan to Italy, perhaps the tops that I got too:) I was totally giddy the rest of the afternoon xx

  4. Lucy 8 June 2011 at 10:59 am #

    Your first ever second hand clothes?! Sounds like you’ve got the bug now though – lovely finds! 🙂

  5. Siubhan 8 June 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    Are these really your first ever second hand clothes purchases!? I’m almost envious of the joy you get when you first find out you can get bargains like this for less than the price of a bus ticket. Your finds are fantastic, too – wooden knitting needles! Sounds like a good car boot.

  6. Tracey 10 June 2011 at 9:15 am #

    Gosh! You did wonderfully well with the bargains … well done.
    I really need to get out and about with some secondhand shopping of my own very soon … things have been busy lately.
    🙂

  7. Michelle Y 12 June 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    I know it is odd that I haven’t had secondhand clothes before (aside from items stolen from friends and family) I just don’t think it is that much of a thing growing up in South Africa and I sort of had a weirded-out issue with it. But that is gone now, was definitely super exciting.

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

