My Italian alter-ego

19 Jun

Yesterday T and I had our first Italian lesson.  It is a three week intensive course.  Not concentrating too much on writing but speaking.  The usual sort of stuff, greetings, what my name is (mi chiamo Michelle) and so on.  What I have learnt so far is that Italians have very short conversations before saying arrivederci (goodbye).

In one of the exercises we did we were given a slip of paper with an ‘Italian’ on and then we had to walk around and greet each other.  Everyone seemed to have fairly respectable looking people.  My persona was named Enrica Merighetti.  She had rollers in her hair, horn rimmed glasses and a cigarette in her hand.  I imagine she is a lot of fun though, flirts with all the boys, shouts across a piazza at friends and turns heads (of men and women) when she walks past in her slinky black dress and red soled Louboutin’s.  She also secretly watched her mama cooking for many years and knows that the way to an Italian man’s heart is through an amazing gnocchi recipe.  She perhaps starts on a telenovela (soap opera) too.

This is a picture T took on his iphone so excuse the quality.

4 Responses to “My Italian alter-ego”

  1. siobhan 19 June 2011 at 7:00 pm #

    Haha I love it!! An Italian alter ego sounds wonderful!

  2. Lucy 19 June 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    Oh she does look good fun doesn’t she! Good luck with the Italian lessons! I speak Spanish which is very similar but I just love listening to the rhythm of Italian speech 🙂

  3. Catherine Sprunt 19 June 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    Ah that’s hilarious! I’d like to go for a drink with her!

    xo

  4. Toni 20 June 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    haha, what a nice icebreaker! Enjoy the lessons!
    x

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

