Vegan baking failure

29 Jun

So I attempted some vegan baking and it went horribly wrong.  I am going to share what I did in the hope that someone can point out where I went wrong.

I modified this recipe for a courgette and lemon cake but tried to make cupcakes.

Ingredients

  • 80 g apple sauce
  • 20 g coconut oil
  • zest of 1 unwaxed lemon
  • 1/2 cup fruit sugar (I think?)
  • 1 medium courgette , coarsely grated
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 100g spelt flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tbsp flax seed meal
  • 1/3 cup oat milk

(excuse the mixed measurements).

I combined wet and dry ingredients separately and then put together.  Spooned into a fairy cake tin and baked for about 25 minutes in the oven at 180°C.

They do taste pretty good (if a bit to moist), but this is what happened….

Too healthy or too vegan?  Any suggestions for what should I have done differently (while keeping them vegan)?

p.s. on the bright side I christened my vintage fairy cake tray.

2 Responses to “Vegan baking failure”

  1. Lauren Zuidema 30 June 2011 at 7:07 am #

    They still look very yummy!…………..to me anyway 🙂

  2. siobhan 30 June 2011 at 8:57 am #

    I think there was too much moisture in the mixture which is why they didn’t rise. I’m not quite sure how to rectify this though, perhaps add the oat milk slowly until the mixture looks like a good consistancy. You will get a lot of moisture out of the courgettes too, so maybe cut down on the amount you add. Good luck with the next batch!! x

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

