Week in food

4 Jul

Chocolate chunk and pistachio chocolate vegan biscuits

I made these biscuits (sorry no short witty name) last week.

I used this recipe from Joy the Baker and just substituted chopped pistachio nuts for the coated seeds.  I used spelt flour; fruit sugar (1/2 cup) in place of the full cup of both types and coconut oil.  I left my dough in the fridge overnight and made the cookies in the morning.

They were really yummy.  Not crunchy but more cake like.  And a good chocolate hit.  I would, however, eat them all within a day.  By day three they had become a bit stale in terms of texture.

Plum Tart

I also made this tart.  It was nothing special in fact it was quite an odd combo with a peanut butter crust based.  It’s based on this savoury tart by Have Cake Will Travel which is so easy and versatile.  It would probably taste a lot better with some sort of chocolate tart filling …  It did look very pretty however.

One Response to “Week in food”

  1. Jessica 4 July 2011 at 11:02 pm #

    Very pretty indeed!

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.