Calling Cards

10 Jul

I went to Blognic today and met some great people.  I didn’t take any photos (but sure some other bloggers will be sharing).

I made some calling cards for the occasion.  I felt a bit dorky doing this but figured how else would people be able to check out my blog after meeting me.  I quite liked the look of some I found on the tinernet (but now can’t find them to share) so thought I would try something similar.

Here is what I did (again excuse the quality of photos these were taken pretty late at night. What do people do when it is dark to get decent photos of anything?  I have applied various ‘effects’ from piknik in an attempt to make them look better).  Anyway:

1. Spend days mulling this over and then change the font at the last minute.  I don’t have photoshop or anything along those lines so just worked out a design in powerpoint.  I made a pattern for a fold-over piece with two rectangles placed side by side.

2. Ensure your significant other (if applicable) is out for the evening.

3. Fortify yourself on biscuits (my chosen poison are these intensely chocolatey numbers from Sainsburys).  A cup of tea is also useful.

4. Cut out lots of bit of paper.  I used a recycled craft paper and watercolour paper (140 lb cold pressed).  I printed on the craft paper and cut out to about 3 cm x 5.5 cm with printed details on the right.  The white card I cut to 5 cm x 7 cm.

5. Paint an abstract something or other on the cards.

6. Fold craft printed paper over painted watercolour paper and sew (slightly tricky but got there eventually).

Dahdah.

Although I do like the individual handmade-ness of these I think next time I will order some from a printer.

p.s. if you were wondering, the cursive font is called Jane Austen from dafont.com

4 Responses to “Calling Cards”

  1. Decorator's Notebook 10 July 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    I feel very privileged to have received one of these beauties! It was lovely to meet you today. Bethan x
    Ps here’s Smite: http://www.smiteonline.co.uk/

  2. Toni 11 July 2011 at 8:43 am #

    Lovely Chelle! Very creative 🙂 x

  3. mrslamberth 11 July 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    Hi Michelle. It was really nice meeting you.

    Your cards were lovely! It was one of the first things I showed my husband when I got back home!

  4. Elizabeth 11 July 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    I love your business card. It is super cute!

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

