Hipster baby

20 Jul

A good friend of mine (who is unfortunately on the other side of the world) is expecting her first baby.  I am super happy for her and know she will be a wonderful mother.  This raises two questions:

  1. What to get (or preferably make) for a baby present?  If you have any ideas let me know.
  2. Was kid stuff so cool when I was a baby?

Just search nursery on pinterest and you come across some uber trendy little baby spaces which I would be quite happy to have for mwah.  Now no babies are planned here but if I were going to decorate a babies room these would be on the top of my list.  In fact I think I don’t think a kid is a requirement at all to have them in my house, right?

Sources: jackalope head by Girl Savage (Etsy); goats head by Desacord; gorgeous giant rabbit photo by Debbie Carlos.

4 Responses to “Hipster baby”

  1. kellyyoung192 20 July 2011 at 9:34 am #

    ok so the crochet/sewn deer heads are HUGELY better than having the real dead things on the wall… but they’re still a tad creepy…. can’t you just make a cute stuffed toy that sits on the bed instead? LOL 🙂

    Or perhaps instead of it just being a head… create the thing as a whole to hang on the wall- like a unicorn, so it looks like its flying by?

  2. Catherine Sprunt 20 July 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    Ohhh just get them a real rabbit!! We have this dude in our house: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Jellycat-Slackajack-Bunny-Medium-33/dp/B000NHL84M/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1311186364&sr=8-5 and whenever anyone has a baby or my mum wants to give someone a present and they have a small child we give them one of these, so all our favourite people (and babies) have matching ones! Also, they are the softest things without being overly fluffy..and I see a lot of children out and about with them, so looks like they’re a favourite for more than just our family! xo

  3. NordicBliss 21 July 2011 at 9:38 pm #

    I’m going to recommend this blog to you – http://babyandwool.wordpress.com/. She makes so many cute crocheted things such as moccasins, hats and rugs. She gives instructions on there as well, and since I have this idea that you are extremely creative and good a crafts I am sure you could pull it off.

    I am very tempted to buy that jackalope head, maybe I should get a baby first?

  4. Tracey 24 July 2011 at 7:49 am #

    So sweet … I want that rabbit photo for myself! 🙂

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

