Vintage Market

26 Jul

On Sunday I went girly shopping with some friends at a Pop Up Vintage Fair in St Stephen’s church in Hampstead.  It is a really lovely church and was decorated so beautifully. There was a great little group of singers all styled in 40s hair and make-up singing classics from the decade and a little teashop with cupcakes.  They had peanut butter cupcakes – enough said.  There are a couple more fairs this year (although some are in the Belsize Park town hall) and I would definitely recommend going.

I could have spent hundreds of pounds here.  Things obviously weren’t as cheap as a car boot but were lovingly found and cared for pieces.  I found my wedding dress (no I am not getting married) –  a beautiful seventies ivory chiffon number with beaded sleeves and a layered top with a halter neck over for just £60. I should have got it.  Also if I was about a stone lighter I would have picked up a gorgeous ’50s bathing costume.  A one piece in deep blue with a plunging halter top.  It would have been perfect for Croatia.  I think I will dream about these two pieces for a while.

What I did get was this tea set (6 cups and saucers) to add to my tea collection.  A treat from my lovely mum.  They are pretty tiny and I imagine only about a third of a mug of tea.  I just need a teapot, sugar bowl and milk jug and I will have all I need to host an intimate tea party for six.

Also, the moment I walked in the door there was a table of vintage fabric.  Although only a day or two before I had said that I wouldn’t buy anymore fabric until I had used the bits I have I just had to get this amazing safari fabric with zebras on.

It is only 2oocm x 80cm so I have to be very careful with what I do with it.  I initially thought a shift type dress but this is what I am currently thinking.  Although with hidden pockets otherwise it might look too busy.  Or do you think buttons would make it look fussy with the fabric?  Although because it is only 80 cm wide (the pattern goes down with the longer length) it would need to be in three panels.  What do you think?

5 Responses to “Vintage Market”

  1. siobhan 26 July 2011 at 8:14 am #

    The Vintage market sounds lovely, I’ve just joined their facebook page so I can keep my eyes open for the next one. Are you going to the vintage market at Southbank Centre next weekend?

  2. anamublog 26 July 2011 at 9:38 am #

    love the gold on the teacups. i’ll have to keep an eye out for those vintage events too!

  3. Decorator's Notebook 26 July 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    Ooh, that turquoise blue is gorgeous. I wish I had some dressmaking insight to add to your dilemma but I am sadly ignorant in these matters. The fabric’s great so I’m sure it’ll look good whatever you do with it!

  4. Decorator's Notebook 26 July 2011 at 1:37 pm #

    Just spotted these vintage dress patterns on another lovely blog – the skirt at the bottom looks nice..
    http://louiserastall.wordpress.com/2011/07/25/dressmaking-with-colette/

  5. whatkatiedoes 26 July 2011 at 6:40 pm #

    What a beautiful setting! Great finds – love the fabric.

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

