London Street Photography exhibition

2 Aug

On Sunday we went to the Museum of London to see a great exhibition on street photography from the Capital.

I had gone before and was disappointed because we couldn’t get in.  Although entry is free at busier periods it has ticketed entrance times.  It seems, however, that first thing on a Sunday morning wasn’t such a time.  The exhibition only takes up one room and took us just under an hour and a half to look around.  It follows a time-line from the invention of street photography in the mid-nineteenth century up to present day.  The earlier photos (pre-World War I) were interesting primarily from a historical perspective and (if you are so inclined) the progress in photographic technology.  It was really interesting to see pictures of streets that were familiar but with horse-drawn busses going down.

Starting from World War I the photographs seemed to become more about composition and the story that these photos tell were really interesting.  Photography during this time was very political, attempting to highlight injustices and inequalities.

I started to write down names of photographers that I found most interesting but the list kept on growing and so I would merely suggest you just pop on down to the London Museum (if you can) to see the exhibition yourself which runs until 4 September.  Here are just a few pictures from the exhibition.  Aren’t you glad there aren’t that many pigeons in Trafalgar Square anymore.

© Cyril Arapoff / Museum of London via The Independent

© Henry Grant Collection/ Museum of London via The Independent

While you are there I would also suggest taking a quick look at the maps in the entrance foyer.  There are a number of maps drawn by London locals of specific areas of London or highlighting specific things (such as locations of loos).

4 Responses to “London Street Photography exhibition”

  1. Emad 2 August 2011 at 9:38 am #

    Loved the 2nd Picture … nice capture !

  2. Decorator's Notebook 2 August 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    Eew, I can’t even look at that pigeon photo!!!

  3. Lucy 3 August 2011 at 8:59 am #

    Oh I love the pigeon photo! Love this style of photography. As I won’t be able to make it to this exhibition (sob) you’ve inspired me to have a look for a photography exhibition closer to home. Ooh I’m itching to get out and about with my camera now!! x

  4. Emily, Ruby Slipper Journeys 3 August 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    I saw this exhibition a few months ago and really enjoyed it. I feel like the Museum of London is much underappreciated amongst all the other museums on offer, but it’s great!

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

