Peanut butter cereal clusters

7 Aug

The other day while wandering through pinterest I came across these peanut butter clusters.  I thought they would be a great substitute for the marshmallow cereal bar things I used to have as a child but can’t eat anymore because of the presence of cow.  However this recipe called for a CUP OF CORN SYRUP! I have never had this stuff but can in no way imagine it is good for you.

So I changed it slightly.  They are still high in calories (about 190 if you make 21) but are still really sweet.  I used agave nectar and fruit sugar instead which I halved in quantity which made this a little more ‘solid’ looking but still tasty.  I imagine you could use any cereal you wanted really.

Ingredients

  • 150 ml / 1/2 cup agave nectar
  • 75g / 1/2 cup fruit sugar
  • 250 g / 1 1/2 cups peanut butter
  • 3 cups cereal (I used half rice crispies and half crisp spelt flakes)

Method

  1. Put agave nectar and sugar in a pot on the stove at medium high heat and warm until just bubbling.
  2. Add peanut butter and mix until combined
  3. Add cereal and stir
  4. Make little balls and pat flat (careful as it might still be hot)
  5. Lay on grease paper on pan and put in the fridge to cool
  6. Eat

Simple, no?

2 Responses to “Peanut butter cereal clusters”

  1. Tamsin 8 August 2011 at 9:50 am #

    Scrumptious

  2. Siubhan 8 August 2011 at 6:43 pm #

    Anything that involves peanut butter, and I’m sold I have to say. They look lovely – and pretty simple!

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

