Croatia ~ Terracotta and White

4 Sep

Dubrovnik is a city which you wouldn’t believe had been struck by bombs less than 20 years ago and practically destroyed.  It generally seems like a modernised European city.  The old town (stad grad) has been beautifully restored in its historical style with blinding white marble (I can attest to the blinding factor as I killed my sunglasses and walked around with slitted weeping eyes for a day before buying new glasses) and terracotta roofs.

The old town has one main street, the Stradun, with a lot of narrow alleys off of which have restaurants and houses, as well as schools and sports fields squeezed in.  The only clue that people actually live in this town which is almost a museum, what T referred to as a sort of amusement park, is the washing hanging out windows.

It is beautiful though and aside from the Old Town there are beaches and other areas of the larger town, including Lapad where we went to the (you guessed it) beaches.

The Croatians seem very self-sufficient with many of them having vegetable gardens and I spotted lots of preserves sitting in windows or the garden.

Other cities in Dalmatia also shared the passion for the whites and oranges.  In our second week we stayed on the island of Brac in a little town called Splitska.  It was the total opposite of Dubrovnik though as it only had a few restaurants and drinking establishments with one mini-market.  An amazing escape where we mostly … read books and sat on the ‘beach’ (translate stoney bits next to the sea).


9 Responses to “Croatia ~ Terracotta and White”

  1. Toni 5 September 2011 at 10:40 am #

    Chelle, your photography is stunning!
    Wow, super jealous about Croatia right now…

  2. andrea 5 September 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    I really want to go to Croatia before it gets even more touristy. I love your photos. You pay good attention to detail, and I like that. I especially liked the ones of the windows and the clothes hanging out to dry!

  3. Decorator's Notebook 7 September 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    These photos are lovely… you’ve obviously got to grips with your nice new lens quickly! Really enjoyed your post… makes me want to visit Croatia more and more.
    Oh, hop over to my place tomorrow for a house tour of another gorgeous Croatian home… thought you might like a heads up : )

    • Michelle Y 7 September 2011 at 8:11 pm #

      Thanks for all the comments.

      @Andrea, thanks. I love looking for the details in things. I think my friends and family often wonder what on Earth I am taking pictures of.

      @Bethan Looking forward to the blog post – there were a couple ‘fixer uppers’ (translate as houses with no roofs) which we pondered on.

  4. Rachel 7 September 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    These are gorgeous photographs – you’ve made me want to go now! That cat is so cute by the way! And the rest are so beautifully interesting. I love the way you see things! x

  5. mizhenka 10 September 2011 at 10:48 am #

    Fantastic photographs! I absolutely loved Dubrovnik, it’s so beautiful.

  6. anamublog 13 September 2011 at 9:28 am #

    Michelle, these photos are beautiful. You wasted no time getting into your new camera! I especially love the one with the sheets.

  7. laura 13 September 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    I’d also love to visit Croatia. Interesting to hear what you said about the food as well.. as a vegetarian i may struggle a bit but i’m sure i’d survive!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Inside Sania Pell’s gorgeous Croatian home « - 8 September 2011

    […] bit! Croatia’s been on my list for a while, but seeing this home, combined with these lovely Croatian holiday photos I think someone’s trying to tell me something… Advertisement […]

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

