Croatia ~ people

6 Sep

Its not only the buildings that make Croatia but the variety of people, although admittedly a  lot of people in August are the tourists.  Sometimes we saw more of the people then we needed, like when we wondered onto an FKK beach (that is a nudist beach for those who aren’t in the know), although getting down to your starkers wasn’t limited to specific beaches.  There seems to be a wonderful confidence that people had in their bodies which is kind of refreshing.  Anyway, here are some dressed people (no cameras allowed on the FKK).

One morning in Dubrovnik I woke up early and went wondering through the town.  I thought there wouldn’t be too many people around.  Although there weren’t many tourists the market was running and there were lots of “real Croatians” heading to work or already working, cleaning up the streets and delivering goods to the restaurants and shops.  I bought some figs from one persistant lady as well as some fig jam which I have yet to open – it .will make an appearance at some point and remind me of my holiday.

Me, tanned and relaxed (it might be the lemony beer shandy in front of me).

3 Responses to “Croatia ~ people”

  1. laurahartson 6 September 2011 at 9:45 am #

    wow you have such a classic look! loved reading this, i would love to travel to croatia while it is still a little under the radar 🙂

  2. Amanda 6 September 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    I like your pictures. I love to people watch when I am on vacation, and to get a glimpse of everyday life. We always go to supermarkets or the movies for that reason.

  3. Emily, Ruby Slipper Journeys 8 September 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    You do indeed look tanned and relaxed… there’s nothing quite like that happy holiday glow! Croatia looks like a magical country.

    I enjoy the more casual attitude to nudity on the beach in some of those countries. I don’t know if it’s about confidence or about just not analyzing your body/not expecting to be judged on it, but it creates a happier atmosphere all around!

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

