Croatia ~ food

7 Sep

My last post about Croatia is about the food.  I love food but sadly the the food for vegetarians generally wasn’t great.  There were vegetarian options in most restaurants but it was mostly “grilled vegetables” and by grilled they often meant soaked in litres of oil.  We did do self-catering and buying vegetables and fruit were really cheap so if you ever go and are veggie I would suggest self-catering.

We did have a traditional Croatian fast food a couple times.  A sort of pie thing called burek with pastry and a cheese similar in texture to scrambled eggs.  Pretty greasy but quite good.

We also had lots of ice-cream, not because it was particularly brilliant but for me holidays means daily ice-creams (suprised I didn’t put on a stone? Yeah, me too).  The ice-cream was fairly standard, not gelato as often advertised to the Italians.  The best flavour tried was a “black chocolate” from a place called Poklisar just out the harbour gate.  It tasted like chocolate brownies.

Another good establishment was called Dolce Vita off the main stradum.  There are signs on each street saying what is down the road so it is easy to find.

It was hot, ice-cream melted quickly.

If you would like to see a couple more photos from my holidays you can have look on flickr.

p.s. I have now also have a facebook page which you can follow me through by clicking on the “like” button on the right of the screen.  Just giving you some more options to stay in touch really.

4 Responses to “Croatia ~ food”

  1. Nic's Notebook 7 September 2011 at 8:22 am #

    ahhhh that’s good to know about the food. I find it so hard on holiday to eat properly – I usually exist on pizza & ice cream! Would love to visit Croatia tho, it looks so pretty!

    • Michelle Y 7 September 2011 at 8:11 pm #

      Yeah holidays for us are normally carb heavy.

  2. Siubhan 8 September 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    Your black chocolate ice cream looks so unusual! It’s so dark that it almost doesn’t look like chocolate at all. Nice work on the daily ice creams, I’m definitely going to aim for that next time I am on holiday!

  3. Amanda 9 September 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    My definition of holidays is also daily ice cream.

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

