Washi tape

13 Sep

So we are supposed to be moving house at the end of the month.  No we don’t have a place yet, that is not an important part of the equation.  Oh wait it is (yes that is slight panic you can hear in my tone).

Anyway … as renters you can’t stick hundreds of things on the wall.  I want to stick hundreds of things on the wall.

Enter washi tape.  I think I am going to have to buy a couple rolls to do a couple amazing displays like these.

Have you ever used it?  I am guessing by how often I have seen it that it doesn’t damage the wall?

Any other decorating ideas for renters?

Sources: click images to go to websites

6 Responses to “Washi tape”

  1. anamublog 13 September 2011 at 9:00 am #

    good idea. much more decorative than command strips 🙂

  2. Nic's Notebook 13 September 2011 at 9:48 am #

    Awww we rent houses out and never mind if people want to put nails in the walls!

  3. laura 13 September 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    As renters we’ve also found washi tape’s ideal to leave no mark on walls! It’s pretty too! Blu-tack definitely leaves a mark though.

  4. Siubhan 13 September 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    Wow, I’ve never heard of Washi tape, but I’ve definitely seen it before. Such a good idea, and I’m pleased to have a name for it!

  5. Rosalind 14 September 2011 at 2:28 pm #

    I’ve never even heard of washi tape, let alone seen it in use. Sounds perfect for my bedroom walls. I do get fed up of the marks that blu-tack leaves. Thank you for your lovely comment on my ‘ethical’ style post – so much appreciated.

  6. Sarah 16 September 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    I used washi tape for poster and photos when i rented an apartment for a year…generally ok but I left a mark (so I’m not sure whether it’s the quality of the paint or the extreme cold and hot weather in Jiangsu area).
    P/s I stumbled upon your blog which FB(under the name “wasabi tape”) links to. Great blog and I enjoy reading it.

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

