Happy Mondays

19 Sep

It has been a good week and lots of reason to be happy.

On Wednesday we finally found a flat to move into with our friend.

As the flat is unfurnished we had to buy a bed.  On Saturday T and I bought our first bed together (ha it only took seven years).  I know this might sound strange (if not down right disturbing) to non-Englanders, but in the UK you often rent flats furnished.  This will be our first place that we need to furnish and though I am totally broke I am really looking forward to putting my own stamp on a place.  This is our bed from Warren Evans.  They are an ethical company which makes all their beds in the UK using FSC certified wood.  I can’t wait for it to arrive.

On Saturday we went with some friends to a pick-your-own farm.  We had so much fun.  We picked a whole bunch of strawberries, raspberries and some corn which was sooo amazingly sweet.  The rain came down in dramatic bursts but there were some nearby trees we hid under and then the blue sky came out again.  I’ll post some photos tomorrow but these are my new boots which I bought.  They are by a company called Dav and have wellie boot at the bottom but more ‘styled’ boot at the top.  My feet stayed dry despite the downpours.  This was incredibly exciting for me.

After picking food we were starving and so headed to Drink, Shop & Do for some food.  A couple berries and some sneaky corn eating were not enough to fill us.  I also had an orea speed wagon milkshake which has banana and oreos and T had a coke float.  T was greeted by the queen mid eating too.

On Sunday we went for a pub lunch with my mom and brother and then I made jam with the berries we picked.  I think the smell of crushed berries and then cooking jam are my new favourite smells.  The jam is tasting pretty yummy too.  So much better than shop bough.

2 Responses to “Happy Mondays”

  1. Decorator's Notebook 20 September 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    I think these boots might just be the answer to my prayers! Did you order online or can you buy them somewhere in London?

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

