Kinda-Nutella Cookies

9 Oct

I made these kinda-nutella cookies for my last day of work, on my last day of work.  I took that simple 4 ingredient nutella biscuit (flour, nutella, sugar and an egg), similar to the peanut butter ones I made before, and complicated it.  Kind of counterintuitive but I wanted something slightly healthier but still chocolatey.

Firstly, have you ever had hazelnut butter.  It is amazing.  I know nutella is made with it but it really tastes almost like it but without the chocolate bit.  And really it is so good I am not sure you even need the cocoa bit.  I am definitely going to experiment a bit more with it.  So anyway… I didn’t want to use nutella because it is full of junk so basically stirred some cocoa powder into the nut butter.  So if you just want a healthier version of nutella there you go.  If you insist on a bit of extra sweetness I would add some agave or maple syrup.

These were pretty darn delicious and I easy to make in the morning before I went to work.  So a definite winner.

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup hazelnut butter (the pure stuff) – I used one jar of the Meridian brand
  • not quite 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup self-raising white flour
  • 3/4 spelt flour
  • 1/4 cup fruit sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C and line trays with grease paper
  2. Combine hazelnut butter and cocoa until well combined
  3. Add in the flour and sugar
  4. Add beaten egg
  5. At this point I decided it was a little dry and so added the maple syrup.  If you have added more hazelnut butter you probably won’t need this.
  6. Roll into teaspoon size balls and flatten with a fork.
  7. Bake for about 8 minutes.
  8. Let cool and eat.

Made 33

5 Responses to “Kinda-Nutella Cookies”

  1. Nic's Notebook 9 October 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    Oh I never knew you could get hazelnut butter – must investigate!! These look lovely xx

  2. Jessica 10 October 2011 at 11:35 am #

    These look like very cute little cookies. Will have to try out the recipe!

  3. Fiona 12 October 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    They look really tasty, I might have to try this hazelnut butter… I am very keen on nutella though, so it’ll have to be pretty special to sway me!

  4. Hermine Van Dijck 13 October 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    mm, they look amazing ! Will try it soon.

  5. Erin Lian 28 October 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    Yes please!! ❤

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

