Fashion police?

30 Oct

Okay ignore the rather vain nature of this post with too many photos of me (sans make up and with bad hair).

Firstly, I went shopping.  My friend (a shopaholic if ever there was one) was visiting from South Africa and we spent about 7 hours on Regent Street/Oxford Street on Thursday.  How could I not buy anything.  So…

I bought a new skirt from Anthropologie in the sales.  It is a soft grey blue with mustaard yellow, army green and taupe with a brown tweed detail for the waist and buttons (just in case you can’t make it out).  I tried it on with a couple of tops.  What do you think?

I am not a fan of the first option (think the top needs a darker bottom) but think it works well with the other options.  I also think it would also look good with a dark wintry coral?  Any other suggestions for tight options?  I think they are much needed in English winter.

I also bought this maxi dress.  Primarily for my friends’ wedding in South Africa next year.  It is a picnic wedding so slightly more casual and it is at the beginning of March so will probably be ghastly hot for my now English weather accustomed self.  I thought I would wear it with a gold belt and gold flat sandles.  At the same time it is quite a casual dress which means that I can also just swan around in the heat in it.  Would love your thoughts?

7 Responses to “Fashion police?”

  1. Betsy 30 October 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    Love the skirt with the yellow cardi! The berry and navy tops go well, too. I’d stick with brown tights – black might be a bit too harsh, don’t you think? So cute 🙂

  2. kellyyoung192 30 October 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    I LOVE the maxi dress!!! The colour is awesome on you!!! 🙂 🙂

  3. siobhan 30 October 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    The yellow cardi is definitely my favourite look too. Great idea to photograph all the different looks too. x

  4. Amanda 31 October 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    Yup, I am with Betsy I like the skirt with the mustard yellow sweatear. And that coral dress is so flowy. I would wear it with a big turquoise collar /accesories. Think jade or a stone of that sort. The contrast will make you stand out and it will be perfect for South Africa.

  5. Fiona 31 October 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    Gorgeous choices! I agree with the comments about the yellow cardigan – looks really good!
    That dress looks great for South Africa: shouldn’t get too warm in that.

  6. Hermine Van Dijck 2 November 2011 at 7:57 am #

    I love all the matches. but especially the pink, the bordeaux and the dark blue!

    (oh, and that coral dress is so perfect for you !)

  7. Claire 4 November 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    Ooh that’s a good dress! You are so lucky to be tall enough to wear a maxi dress and look elegant.
    Claire

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

