Power of Making and tea

3 Nov

Last week T and I went to the Power of Making exhibition at the V&A.  It is a really impressive exhibition which explores and celebrates the way that things are made.  There are more than 100 objects (I would go so far as to call them object d’art).  Unfortunately I couldn’t take any pictures as no photos were allowed but there were really some beautiful objects: a set of pencils with the alphabet carved into the lead; several beautiful bikes – one in particular made with the same technique of boats made with mahogany; a giant knitted item.  They are so many more.  The exhibition is free and open until January.  The only suggestion I would make – don’t go during school holidays.

Last week I also stopped by the Secret Soho Tea Room with my friend.  I had seen it posted about on several blogs and was eager to step back in time.  When we eventually located the pub (which is very much what I call an old man’s pub) which looked like it had seen better days.  Despite only a few lone drinkers in the pub the Tea Room was buzzing with chatter and the clacking of tea cups against plates.  We each had a sandwich (with the crusts cut off) and a piece of cake – chocolate for me, carrot cake for my friend.  It was fairly priced and the cake was really good.  An egg and cress sandwich is pretty generic but I wasn’t expecting too much from that anyway.  All in all though it is a delightful place to visit and I thoroughly suggest you do.

2 Responses to “Power of Making and tea”

  1. Decorator's Notebook 4 November 2011 at 11:11 am #

    Ooh, the tea room sounds right up my street!

  2. Jessica 9 November 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    I love this tea room! Such big portions though – I shared an afternoon tea with Ben when I went (with extra tea, of course)

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

