Hackney City Farm

10 Nov

Earlier this week I took some portrait photos with Ana Maria along Columbia Road (photos coming soon).  For something a bit different I thought we could wonder up to the Hackney City Farm for some additional photos.  We both are keen for a bit of country life so really loved it.  They have all the animals you would expects: goats, sheep, chickens, even some rabbits and guinea pigs.

What was pretty darn amazing was this mega pig.  I didn’t catch its breed it was something ginger.  The photos don’t really give an idea of its size but it was pretty massive – like 3 feet tall and must have weighed about 300kg!

Not at the farm but also similarly massive was this cat on Columbia Road.  Her head looks fairly normal but she is definitely more triangular then is normal.  No?

It was a Tuesday when we were there and it was pretty quiet.  Lovely to go if you are an adult or open on the weekends if you want to take the kids.

Also, they have a restaurant which I haven’t eaten at although I have had their ice-cream which is pretty top notch.  If I remember correctly it was made on site so well worth the visit.

8 Responses to “Hackney City Farm”

  1. The Girl 10 November 2011 at 9:16 am #

    Oh my goodness. That cat is officially the weirdest shape ever. There’s a whole “Does my bum look big in this” joke that’s hovering around this photo.

  2. Tali 10 November 2011 at 9:46 am #

    the mega puss looks like she is wearing a dress!

  3. MacGirl 10 November 2011 at 1:32 pm #

    I love farms! Unfortunately I have a time convincing the Mr that we need to go to a farm and more often than not he wins, I must change this pattern!

  4. Dawn 10 November 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    That cat is absolutely hilarious looking. I want it just so I can pet it, then point at it and giggle.

  5. Lizzie Kennedy 11 November 2011 at 11:38 am #

    That cat is amazing. I’m moving to London in the new year and look forward to visiting this place. Super cute looking! I have high expectations to meet this cat too…

  6. anamublog 14 November 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    great shot of the donkey! i’m so so so happy that you introduced me to this place – it is such a fun treasure.

  7. Amanda 16 November 2011 at 10:14 am #

    I love petting farms. Your pictures are super good 🙂 And yeah, pigs are huge. One of the little pieces of data that shock me the most while studyint was considering that a baby pig when it is born weighs about 1 kg, sometimes less, while the mommy pig weighs around 100 kg. That is 100 more, so it is a huge difference: One of the concerns in farms is how to change the welfare regulations to increase the space or design it in a different way, because as it is lots of piglets die crushed by their own mom when she accidentally sits down over them
    But 300 kg, wow,.

  8. Laura 16 November 2011 at 9:58 pm #

    That cat is amazing! hehe. I love city zoos too!

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

