Campania Gastronomia

13 Nov

For two years I lived a short distance from Columbia Road Market.  I loved living there and still miss it, but that is another story.  At the top of Columbia Road is a little deli type restaurant, Campania Gastronomia, which I walked past many times but never went in to because it was always packed on a Sunday when I went to the flower market.

Last week I finally went.  It was only a quick visit as there were things to do but I had time to grab myself a quick lunch and boy am I glad I did.

Firstly, the decor in this place is gorgeous.  Rough wooden tables, beautiful blue and white tiles, random collection of chairs, black boards, subway tiles.  Silly me didn’t get photos but really lovely.  Great excuse to go back.

Secondly, as the name suggests it is Italian.  You might know how I feel about Italy.  What is important though is not only that all the food Italian, more specifically from the region of Campania around Naples, but all the staff were too.  They chatted away in Italian while I devoured my panini.

Which brings us to point three.  It might look and sound simple but the lightest focaccia with authentic buffalo mozzarella, sweet and juicy sundried tomatoes and rocket that wasn’t too peppery.  Possibly the best sandwich ever eaten.  It is served in a warm carved stone bowl which was lovely on the rather chilly day I went.

It is really lovely there so I suggest you go, although you might struggle on a Sunday to get a seat they do takeaways.

2 Responses to “Campania Gastronomia”

  1. harmony and rosie 13 November 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    Thanks for visiting my blog and for leaving your lovely comment, I really appreciate it!
    Although I’ve lived in London for many years, Columbia Road is not an area I know particularly well. I keep meaning to visit for the flower market but now you’ve given me another reason to go!
    Kate x

  2. anamublog 14 November 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    definitely going back there. maybe move in too?

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

