Crochet snood: How to

15 Nov

Thank you for all the lovely comments on my snood yesterday.  I had a couple of requests to share how I made it and because I am avoiding doing research for my Uni assignment and you are all so lovely here you go.

Firstly, I am a beginner and this was only my third project so it is easy enough for beginners but feel free to offer any other advice if you have more experience.

What I used:

  • 5 mm hook
  • 2.5 balls DK acrylic yarn (it was about 270m per ball)
  • large needle

Step 1 – Foundation row. I did a row of 50 chain stitches (plus 4 extra at the end for the first row).

Step 2 – First row.  Start with a treble stitch into the fourth chain stitch from the end.  Continue until the end.  Chain 4 and turn.

Then just carry on with the treble stitch row after row until you can wrap around your neck once, twice or if thinner even three times.

When it is long enough sew the two ends together and voila!

For my first attempt, after about 20 rows I realised that I had been dropping a stitch every row (and there I was thinking that I had just got faster).  So how do you prevent this? From row 2 onwards I don’t stitch into the first stitch (the one right next to the chain stitch) and then when I get to the end I stitch into the last hole and then again into the top loop of the chain leading up to the end of the row.  This has the bonus of providing a strong base for the last stitch.

Does that make sense?

I did still lose or gain the occasional stitch but if it was too far back I would just drop/add a stitch where I was.  For a scarf that is all twisty around your neck no one is going to notice such a slight imperfection.

Also this is just how I do it so other people might have more professional means of doing so.

You can make this snood as thin/thick or as long as you like.  Just play around a bit.  I’d love to see what you do if you want to link back to your blog post in the comments.

4 Responses to “Crochet snood: How to”

  1. Decorator's Notebook 15 November 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    I can’t believe this is only your third crochet project – I am in awe!

  2. The Girl 16 November 2011 at 11:37 am #

    Ditto. I’ve been crocheting for over a year and still haven’t graduated from making blankets, scarves and cushion covers i.e. anything flat!

    Post is bookmarked and once this Ripple Beast Blanket is finished then I am going to make something for myself and everyone else can just bugger off.

  3. Rachel 22 November 2011 at 8:02 pm #

    I bought a crochet hook the other day with the idea of teaching myself. It’s harder than it looks though!
    Maybe I’ll have a go at this!

  4. The Girl 3 January 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    By the way I’ve totally made mine now and I’m wearing it and EVERYTHING. Just need to find time to blog about it. (You will, of course, be getting credit!)

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

