These make me ridiculously happy

5 Dec

I know that shopping doesn’t make you happy.  I have experienced enough buyers remorse in my life to know that it can make you pretty stressed at times and I have some purchases which make me wonder if I had momentarily lost my mind.

That said, I saw these two plates in a charity shop on Thursday.  I held them for about five minutes before putting them down and leaving.  They are hideous-gorgeous.   I didn’t really need them.  I decided if they were there the next day I would get them – thinking on it is always a good move.

The next day I popped in on my way home from Uni and the plates were still there!  I quickly picked them up and paid for them.

As a vegetarian this is the only way I am going to have a turkey on my plate for Christmas! (haha that cracks me up).

Terribly sad but every time I see them I smile if not actually laugh spontaneously.   I think that is my goal for all future purchases.

We also bought another chair from the Wimbledon carboot on Saturday.  We now have 4 chairs around the dining table.  Time for a dinner party (which is actually happening tonight with some new uni friends coming around for dinner).

5 Responses to “These make me ridiculously happy”

  1. Katy 5 December 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    Awww those plates are fab i love and such a good ide to go back the next day! Think il try that with shopping online lol xx

  2. carolyn 5 December 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    Love the plates,here’s to a turkey free Christmas.xxxxx

  3. sarah j 5 December 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    omg, my mum has one of those plates, but platter size! hideous/gorgeous is the perfect description! I believe the thanksgiving turkey is served on it every year and I can only assume she got it from a thrift shop.

  4. Decorator's Notebook 7 December 2011 at 10:33 am #

    I ADORE that chair – well spotted!

  5. Jessica 8 December 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    I really like those style of chairs – good call. The plates were definitely a must buy!

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

