Winter Warmer Recipe Swap

11 Dec

I recently took part in Annika and Fiona‘s Winter Warmer Recipe Swap.

I received a recipe from Rachel which was I was able to get around to cooking this week.  A bit of Italy on a plate – ricotta and spinach cannelloni.

I stuck the recipe up on our kitchen wall with washi tape while cooking.  Genius if I don’t mind saying so myself.

Unfortunately I couldn’t find a vegetarian ricotta so used quark instead but it still got lots of satisfied yums from my boyfriend and the Housemate.  I had never made cannelloni before because I always thought it would be too long and complicated.  However, it wasn’t that bad.  I couldn’t get a piping bag to work with the spinach so had to carefully spoon and squig the quark/spinach mix into the very tiny cannelloni tubes I had bought which probably took the longest.

Also, I used frozen spinach.

Thanks Rachel!

5 Responses to “Winter Warmer Recipe Swap”

  1. Nic's Notebook 11 December 2011 at 9:09 am #

    Oh wow it looks nice, I have never tried to make this myself. Love your little animation as well 🙂 x

  2. Amanda 11 December 2011 at 10:56 am #

    Yes, the animation is great. And this looks delicious , my mom’s “staple” dish for Christmas Eve is a Ricotta-Spinach lasagne kind of similar to these, except without tomatoes. Yummy.

  3. lola 11 December 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    this is magic:)

  4. Annika 13 December 2011 at 9:53 am #

    Oh, I get so excited by all these swap posts cropping up everywhere! These cannelloni look delicious, and I like your GIF. Link this up over at Fiona’s or mine, if you like!

  5. Siubhan 13 December 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    There something so brilliant about cannelloni pasta I always think – you can’t help but have fun with it. Spinach and ricotta cannelloni is definitely a winter warmer recipe, and your finished product looks amazing!

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

