Gelato report: Gelupo

16 Dec

Gelupo is definitely my favourite gelateria in London and potentially rivals my favourite Italian place.  It is a fairly small establishment which only offers about 8 gelato flavours at a time as well as several sorbets and granitas but they are the most amazing flavours (and constantly changing).  Plus they also have other Italian specialities.

I have been many many times but visited today with a friend and it was just so festive and wonderful we didn’t want to leave.  This place is a little bit of Italian heaven in Soho and the manager (who I met to day) seems to have just about the best job in the world.  As he said no-one can be upset when you give them ice-cream.

Just some of the flavours I have tried:

  • Zabaglione: a traditional Italian dessert made with egg yolks, sugar and sweet wine.  This was a really good ice-cream with an alcoholic flavour which was pleasing and not overpowering
  • Pistachio: as with other gelaterias I have tried the colour is not fake green and the flavour is really good
  • Sour cherry and ricotta: alcoholic cherries which were slightly overpowering but still good
  • Salted caramel and pecan: soooo sooo good. The caramel has a slightly burnt sugar flavour and the pecans were softened.  It tasted a bit like pecan pie.
  • I have also tried several sorbets including watermelon, coconut (which was absolutely delicious and creamy) and apricot.

With Christmas they have some special festive flavours and I suggest you get over there pronto before the season is over.  Their White Christmas and Christmas Pudding (which I just had a tiny taste of) where absolutely delicious.  In fact I might go back tomorrow to have some more.

The bonus of this place is all the other Italian delicacies you can get.

If I wasn’t going to be in Italy this time next week I would have bought some of the beautiful food items.

2 Responses to “Gelato report: Gelupo”

  1. Decorator's Notebook 19 December 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    Just back from Bologna… had some DELICIOUS gelato here: http://www.lasorbetteria.it/ yum yum yum yum!!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Birthday Weekend « i ripple. i dance - 2 April 2012

    […] (although currently it has that “urban raw” look going).  I then had desert at Gelupo.  You have to head over for their Easter Specials.  I had the Carrot and Ginger which was really […]

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

