Simple French Toast

11 Jan

One thing in life that makes me incredibly happy is breakfast.  I really think it is the best meal of the day.  With my sugar-free detox* I have been having an increasingly dull oats with oat milk  and so today treated myself to some french toast.  Wholemeal bloomer. 1 egg. Dash of oat milk (though I didn’t actually have any and used oat cream). Fry in a smidgen of coconut oil. Sprinkle with chopped almonds (or whatever nuts you have on hand).  It is a rather … “robust” breakfast but it kept me going for a good many hours.

It is the simple things in life.

* some people have raised their concerns about my sugar-free ‘adventure’ and my reference to calling sugar “poison”.  Don’t worry too much though, the use of the word is just my way of convincing myself that eating a whole packet of biscuits isn’t a good idea.  I believe in a balanced diet with moderation being key.  I am basically hoping that a couple of weeks of detox will bring me back to a “new normal” so that I can exercise a bit more self-control in the treat department.  Thanks for caring.

3 Responses to “Simple French Toast”

  1. Amanda 12 January 2012 at 8:11 pm #

    Ohh this looks delicious, I love oatmeal, so It must be good. Did you add cinammon? I read somewhere that when cutting on sugar, cinammon can be a bit of a saver, it adds flavor in a sweet kind of way without the downside…

  2. Jessica 12 January 2012 at 9:19 pm #

    Oo Michelle, I meant to say – I recently read ‘The End to Overeating’ by David Kessler (I saw it mentioned on a blog somewhere – apologies if it was yours!) and found it really interesting. Has definitely made me think about food – and how it is marketed to us – in a new light.

    p.s. and I hope you know I wasn’t meaning to be critical – I really do admire your willpower and being able to stick to the sugar-free thing!

  3. Pierre 13 January 2012 at 1:35 pm #

    Hi, just discovered you blog through dartphotographie.com, I like your way of cooking and photographing.

    Will keep on reading your blog, have a nice week-end.

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

