Veg Box Dilemma

17 Jan

Help!  Do you have any tried and tested recipes for the following suspects?

The one time I got turnips I baked them like oven fries and they were soooo bitter and awful we couldn’t eat them.  I have never even heard of the other two.

6 Responses to “Veg Box Dilemma”

  1. Jessica 17 January 2012 at 11:32 am #

    I knew I had spotted salsify somewhere… perhaps you could try this Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall recipe for (he’s usually reliable) for salsify fritters?

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2010/jan/09/salsify-recipes-hugh-fearnley-whittingstall

    He also give a Kohlrabi carpaccio recipe, although it uses anchovies, which I’m not sure you eat. Guess you could easily omit though.

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2009/jun/27/fearnley-whittingstall-cooking-with-kohlrabi

    I’ve never actually tried cooking with any of the them to be honest! Although I feel a bit ashamed saying that. Such a lack of variety in my veg choices, tut tut.

  2. Nathan Nelson (@natmandu) 17 January 2012 at 11:58 am #

    Shredded kohl rabi can be used as a substitute for green papaya or swede in a South East Asian curry – heat a curry paste until it goes aromatic, add coconut milk and a little water, bring to the boil and add the shredded kohl rabi along with maybe peas or sugar snaps, chopped aubergine and other veggies.

    There’s a recipe here http://sambathmeas.blogspot.com/2011/07/samlor-korko-stirred-soup.html, also suitable recipes in Rick Stein’s Far Eastern Odyssey.

  3. Jessica Ann (@peonyfish) 17 January 2012 at 7:22 pm #

    Yes! Do you get Abel and Cole? I do and I love them so much. They sent me salsify and I didn’t know what to do with it so I emailed them and they sent me recipes. Their website (even if your box didn’t come from them) has lots of good ideas. I used my turnips last week with carrots to make a spicy pureed soup.

  4. Pierre 18 January 2012 at 8:38 am #

    Hi,

    Salsify are mostly prepared with a white sauce in France (sauce béchamelle, basically butter with flour, and milk on top of that). You can cook them before in boiling water (8-10 minutes), and then make a gratin : salsify in a form, sauce béchamelle over it. You can also add cheese on it if you like it.

    I mostly use turnips in soups or Pot-au-feu with some of them, carrots, potatoes, leek and salty beef. (you can give it a try with no meat and enough spices, it surely tastes good too, just drop me a mail for the recipe).

    The kohlrabi is mostly eaten raw here in Germany, with or without a dip sauce. Still, you can cook it in a bamboo steam-cooker (best invention ever^^) and have it with a feta-cheese dip for instance (it’s actually what I have today for meal)

    Pierre

    • siobhan 18 January 2012 at 9:27 pm #

      I have no recipes, but the turnips look lovely. How do you find it having a veg box? I only have a tiny fridge freezer which put me off getting one as I can’t save much food. Hope you’re having a lovely January! x

  5. Mathilde 8 February 2012 at 1:48 pm #

    This turnip bake is really nice. Make sure you cut the turnips into really thin slices though.

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

