Sugar free breakfast

22 Jan

So I have been struggling with boring oats and thought I would spice things up a bit with some pumpkin puree.  Unfortunately a couple spoonfuls in my porridge made it taste like baby food.  So I made some pumpkin soup with some turnip, but it tasted bitter.  I just don’t think turnips and I are going to be friends.  So instead I had the weeks healthiest breakfasts (lies, all lies).

First up.  Pumpkin French Toast.  I just added some of the puree to the egg mix and stirred it in.  Then fried as normal in coconut oil.  Served with chopped almonds and some butter.  One egg, some oat milk and 2 teaspoons of puree is enough for two slices of bread.  This was so yummy I made it twice.

Number two. Pumpkin Pancakes.  I have seen some recipes out there but thought I would just do something along the lines of my vegan banana pancakes.  Unfortunately they don’t really “cook” all the way through but because they were vegan it didn’t bother me.

This week I need to try some healthier (translate as less carby) breakfast options I think.  I’m pondering bringing one piece of fruit a day back into my diet but will probably ponder it so long that another week will have gone. I don’t feel like I have had any sugar cravings though have felt the need for some biscuits as an emotional crutch this week.  I have successfully ignored them though, I don’t want any future “treats” to have any emotional relevance.  Know what I mean?

One Response to “Sugar free breakfast”

  1. VogueVegetarian 22 January 2012 at 9:05 am #

    Mmmm! Sugar free is a great way to start the day! If I eat sugar I am downright grumpy the rest of the morning. Good post.

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

