Birthday Weekend

2 Apr

It is my birthday today.  I think 28 is going to be a good year.

The weekend was mostly spent catching up with my mom and Mr after my two months away.

Saturday my Mom gave me my birthday present: a picnic blanket (please be a good summer), pretty cake stand which goes very well with some carboot finds from a while back and home-made red velvet cupcakes.

We then went to Mildred’s for lunch which despite having being a vegetarian in London for almost seven years I hadn’t yet been to.  I am sad that I hadn’t because this place does great food with happy and efficient service.  They are currently refurbishing so I will need to head back once the new look is installed (although currently it has that “urban raw” look going).  I then had desert at Gelupo.  You have to head over for their Easter Specials.  I had the Carrot and Ginger which was really light and lovely but their “Rabbit Hatch” which is hay-infused milk (!) was pretty amazing and really creamy.

As it was colder than I had planned we wondered into the National Portrait Gallery to have a wander.  One of the things I love about London is that you can just pop into an art gallery and look at a room and walk out.  Which is just what we did.  They have a small exhibit called Queens in Waiting which shows some portraits of Princess Charlotte and Princess (who became queen) Victoria with some of their early history.  I can’t say the art itself was that interesting but I did feel more authentically British after learning some more about our monarchy.

Sunday was pretty much a lazy day except for a visit to a friend for a beer before heading out to dinner at Manna with the Mr.  We hadn’t been to Manna since we lived in Camden about 5 years ago so it was good to revisit.  The food was as good as ever and I believe it has been redecorated.  The service was slightly slow but it is always good to not be rushed at dinner.  For dessert we shared a “not to be missed” blood orange cheesecake with amaretto ice-cream.  Yum!

Today as my actual birthday and with Mr on holidays we are going to go for brunch and a wander.  Friends around tomorrow.  I love Birthdays!

5 Responses to “Birthday Weekend”

  1. Decorator's Notebook 2 April 2012 at 11:14 am #

    Happy birthday! And thanks for the restaurant tips – I love hearing about interesting new places to try.

  2. Amanda 2 April 2012 at 7:47 pm #

    Hey Happy Birthday . I wish you all the happiness in the world, and goals fulfilled too.
    Hay infused milk ice cream sounds super good, it made me smile big time since I did an internship trying to figure out which kind of hay and what in it (chemical content, smell etc) made it more attractive for cows, so hay’s a nice smell for me. The cake stand is really pretty too.
    Enjoy your day !

  3. Laura 2 April 2012 at 11:06 pm #

    Happy birthday! Sounds like a lovely weekend! X

  4. Charlotte 9 April 2012 at 10:25 pm #

    Oh Manna! I have havent been and really want to – especially as we live so close.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What 28 looked like « i ripple. i dance - 3 April 2012

    […] mentioned yesterday was my birthday.  I thought I would take a picture journal of the day and though I didn’t […]

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

