Ethical Inspiration: Holiday Souvenirs

9 Apr

You know that thing where you go on holiday and you need to get something for those people in your life who expect you to get them something from said holiday.  Inevitably you are faced with a wall of tourist tat which may be cheap but is equally nasty.  And by nasty I mean not only physically unattractive but likely made in some sweat shop in China.

A large portion of what we spend on holiday either accumulates to the wealthier members of society or foreign companies.  Staying in international hotel chains and shopping in chain stores are the most obvious examples of where this happens. Finding something appropriate for people while still living up to your social conscience can be a bit of a challenge.

These are some items I got while I was on holiday in Australia.

  • The tote bag was for my Mum and is made by a local artist from organic materials.
  • The cup is a silicone reusable cup that is recyclable and apparently “breaks even” after 10 uses.  The company is also a local Melburnians company
  • The kangaroo cookie cutter was purchased from a sanctuary which looked after Australian species.

For me big things that I would look for in gifts are locally made, earth friendly materials and/or ones that contribute funds to a local charity or organisation such as a museum or work collective.  Another thing that I often buy is local food products which are made in the country and therefore a good treat for someone and likely to at least keep some of the money spent within the country.

Did you go away over Easter? What gifts do you get when travelling?

6 Responses to “Ethical Inspiration: Holiday Souvenirs”

  1. Punctuation Mark 9 April 2012 at 8:24 pm #

    i love that silicone mug… i actually need one of those!

  2. Jessica Ann (@peonyfish) 9 April 2012 at 10:11 pm #

    I love that coffee cup! I totally want one, might have to get my Australian friend to bring one over when she next visits!

  3. Yuanting 10 April 2012 at 6:35 am #

    Whenever I travel, I love to get food for my friends! Haha 🙂 And I love your cup is so adorable! A sweet blog, have just follow you on bloglovin.

  4. Jo 10 April 2012 at 6:36 pm #

    Ah, I love these. Such a great idea. I too try to find souvenirs from local artisans when I travel instead of the usual tat that inevitably ends up in someone’s bin anyway! Now these are gifts I would love to receive!
    PS thanks for stopping by my blog and for such kind comments 🙂

  5. Joana Gomes (@joanabcggomes) 10 April 2012 at 10:57 pm #

    I absoluetly adore this post because it’s so unbelievably true. These souvenirs you bought are so cute and amazing, much better than some t-shirt with a jumping kangaroo (totally picturing it right now!)

    I love your blog – I’m following you 🙂

    xo Joana

    http://www.growinfashion.com

  6. Monica 11 April 2012 at 11:39 am #

    Hello there!

    If there is one thing that is a blot on my holiday is the souvenir obligation shopping. But for friends/family that I really do want to return with something, it often ends up those tatty shops. I usually end up buying nothing. I would love to always find such treasures as you did.

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

