Melbourne III – On the streets

24 Apr

Melbourne differed from Brisbane in that it was a lot easier for me to get around and there were lots of great areas which (although mostly centred around shopping and eating) were really great to wonder around.

The first day my friend took me up Eureka Tower which is a really tall building with some great views (it is the one in the first shot in the background).

Brunswick Street – as a point of comparison it is a mix between Camden and Shoreditch (for the Londoners) or Kalk Bay (for Capetonians).  It is full of vintage shops, interior stores and lots of foodie places.  This is where it seems all hipsters in Melbourne hang out; beards, check and skinny jeans abounded here.

The Lanes is in the city and are lots of pedestrianised shopping/restaurant areas which were also really cute and trendy.  I love towns with trams, though I didn’t end up getting a picture of one.  I just like the wires that cross the city for some reason.  Anyway, this area is the perfect area for stopping at a coffee shop, grabbing a seasonally appropriate treat and writing some postcards.

One evening we popped down to St Kilda which is where the beach is with lots of cute beach huts and an old amusement park (although we didn’t go inside it looked pretty awesome).

I want to live in that beach hut pictured second!

2 Responses to “Melbourne III – On the streets”

  1. Decorator's Notebook 26 April 2012 at 10:30 am #

    I’ll fight you for beach hut number 21! Gorgeous!

  2. Sofia 28 April 2012 at 7:37 am #

    Oh my I love the beach huts too! Melbourne looks like a great place! x

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

